We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience and class in one location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Pagan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' Pagan
Ranked #72 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenience and class in one location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is amazing. Its gorgeous, we'll staffed and we'll stocked. It's our of the way of the main tourist traffic, but just a couple of blocks from
one of th main courtyards. Wonderful. The hope is also just a few dozen meters from the water front and one of the main water taxi stops.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnybeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    120
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
409
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great long weekend staying at the Ca'pagan. The Hotel is well located, only a few minutes walk from st.marks square and the Rialto bridge. We booked the classic room, this is the smallest room in the hotel but was lovely and did everything that we needed it to. The rooms were very well air conditioned which was great as during our stay the weather was very hot. The room decor was lovely and very Venetian, although this was the smallest rooms it did not feel cramped and the bathroom was very spacious. There are some reviews saying how the breakfast at the hotel wasn't very good but I would completely disagree. The breakfast is very varied, with eggs, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, cereal, yoghurt and fruit, and every morning we were also offered fresh coffee, tea or a cappuccino.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and gave us several free maps and wifi codes for all of our devices. They also drew routes on our maps and gave great advice about what to see and do.
We were lucky enough to be in Venice in the 3rd weekend in July when Venice has the Festa del Redentore- lots of beautiful fireworks. Thanks to the staff in the hotel we managed to find a great place to watch the display and had a lovely evening.

The hotel was also kind enough to help us out when due to issues with our flight home being cancelled they helped to book us in for another night and offer us a good price for the extra night.

All in all we had a lovely weekend, would recommend this hotel to family and friends and hopefully we will be returning next year

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmmm_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in early July - our group had 5 rooms , so we took over much of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Most had showers, though some had tubs with hose showers and no curtain. Each room had individual climate control and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was either in the dining room or terrace and was very nice with a wide variety of fresh food. The clerk at the desk suggested a restaurant which was also terrific. This hotel is in a very nice area - close to St Mark's but away so it is quiet. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DougBstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I travel a great deal and have written many Tripadvisor reviews of my travels. This hotel was the worst hotel experience I have had, ever. We thought we booked Ca Pagan's "best" room. Unfortunately, Ca Pagan's website failed to mention the construction zone that was immediately adjacent. The neighbor building was deep in construction building a new theatre. In retrospect, I should have been on alert since google maps shows the giant crane and construction equipment next door to Ca Pagan. Quite literally, every morning, we woke up to jackhammering and drilling on the other side of our bedroom wall. Please message me if you would like a video with sound of the drilling through our wall as Tripadvisor does not support video posts. The construction was so intense the furniture and decorations shook from 6am throughout the day. Not the leisurely, relaxing, honeymoon I paid a premium for.

Although the front desk was already aware of the ongoing construction, we reported our disruption to them. The front desk told us Ca Pagan has an attorney and is taking legal action against the theater building owner. However, I was really annoyed that after I paid approximately $1,300 for a 4 night stay at the hotel, Ca Pagan told me to be patient and soon we can all enjoy the new theatre.

While checking out, Ca Pagan asked that we write a letter for their attorney articulating the disruptions during our stay, including the wake up times (6am) and amount of noise/vibration. At no benefit to ourselves, I wrote a letter documenting the issues. Ca Pagan did not offer to give us a discount, noting our horrible stay, but more insultingly, the woman at the front desk said she wished my letter offered a little more detail about our terrible stay for their attorney. Ca Pagan was not offering anything in return for the narrative I wrote quickly for their attorney, in furtherance of their litigation against their constructing neighbor, so I was surprised that what I wrote was not good enough for them.

Additionally, it was very warm in our room and the air conditioning did not work. We reported this several times to the front desk. At first they told us that they could not turn the a.c. on for "safety reasons." Later, they told us it was not working. Due to the heat we slept with the windows open (no screens) the first 2 nights. After the second night, I was covered in bug (mosquitos?) bites. The last nights we slept, or at least attempted to for a few hours before construction, with no AC and the windows closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Proprietario at Ca' Pagan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor User,

I am so disapponted about what you wrote.

All the things are written, with the exception for the mosquitos and the air conditionair (they are not true), COULD be true on AUGUST 2012 AND NOT on AUGUST 2013, as you wrote.
In fact, we have a lot of evidence that the demolition and construction period was FROM JUNE 2012 TO MAY 2013 (because of a court that is taking place for this).

Regarding your posted photo, if you had seen better on GoogleMap, its copyright is on APRIL 2013 and, I repeat, the demolition and construction period ended on MAY 2013.

Two years have passed from August 2012 and there is a clear TripAdvisor’s Rule that after one year from the contact between the TripAdvisor user and the structure the Review is not valid!

You wrote, at the beginning of the review, that you have written many TripAdvisor reviews. If you had, you should know really well the TripAdvisor Rules. But, why aren’t you respect them?

Those demolitions were two years ago and created some really huge problems to us.

FROM JUNE 2013, I’M SAYING THIS PROUDLY, WE ARE IN ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL, QUITE AND PEACEFUL AREA OF VENICE.

Mario Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for noe night (would recommend two nights so You can visitt the Islands around as well). Super friendly staff, gave us lots Of tips. Clean, spacey room, very comfortable beds! Interiour is stylish and colorfull! Finally a hotel with good wifi signals in the room! Nice breakfast, good coffee. Lovely charming garden. Would stay here again! Great value!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid_Reisegleder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ca' Pagan for a few days on our honeymoon and it was absolutely delightful! For the price we paid, we had no idea that we would have such amazing accommodations. It was an entire apartment equipped with a stocked kitchen, huge bathroom, living room, washing machine, etc. The washing machine was amazing as we had a long vacation with many stops and this offered a great opportunity to clean all of our clothes. We had so much privacy without the coming and going through a hotel lobby or having to drop your keys off at the front desk like so many other hotels in Europe. The location is superb as well. It is a short walk from every major site in Venice without the insane tourist crowds. The best part was the kind front desk worker who spoke perfect English and told us where to go for everything. He was so helpful and nice to us. He even explained how to use the public transit boats, printed travel documents for us and happily held our bags for us for a few hours after we checked out the last day. I have never written a hotel review before but I just had to because of the amazing time we had there. It really enhanced our whole view of the romantic city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Small 'guest house' which offers excellent value for money, especially considering the central location and great service. Its worth upgrading to the Deluxe rooms if you can. These are perfectly spacious for a few nights stay. The breakfast is basic, but adequate and the staff were very helpful. Overall, I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#61 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#66 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Pagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pagan

Property: Ca' Pagan
Address: Sestiere San Marco 3268 | Calle de le Carrozze, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#88 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pagan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the most elegant part of Venice, the comfortable rooms of Ca' Pagan offer you warm hospitality in an elegant Venetian style environment, just a stone's thrown from the prestigious Palazzo Grassi and Saint Mark's Square. The atmosphere of a small hotel that permeates Ca' Pagan is accompanied by al the most modern amenities, a loving attention to details and the delicate charm of a small internal courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ca' Pagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pagan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing