We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic venetian osteria”

Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi
Ranked #65 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Authentic venetian osteria”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was our fourth visit to spossi and did not disappoint. It is always packed with locals drinking outside in the street (probably as the house wine is good and is only 80 cents)and at the bar eating chiccetti. The menu is hand written in italian only as they change the menu to whatever is in season and avaiable at the rialto market, but we love this as the waiters will happily translate it for you and tell you exactly what is in each dish and make recomendations. We had three courses with a bottle of water and half a litre of wine for 90 euro's which for the quality of the food and Venice prices is good value. The staff are always friendly, efficient and very welcoming. To find them take Calle del Oca from Santi Apostoli square and they are on the left about 2/3rd's down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo1970_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    527
    99
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

It is ok, but nothing extraordinary. It is our first evening here and we wanted to test something typical. Really tasty and fresh! But White sparkling house wine is great!!!

Helpful?
Thank Stefka S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“venetian foodie heaven”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

it's well tucked away so we had a lot of trouble finding this place - even with a map. but boy am i glad we persevered. truly exceptional foodie experience. where else can a person enjoy fresh squid ink pasta?

great service and the food was outstanding.

visited in may 2012

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinderhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to try this place for food by the Irish Bar, so glad we did - It was excellent. Very much a local place more than a tourist place, we appreciated that though! Menu was a bit tricky because there wasn't any safe/standard options other than the steak but that's what we went for and it was great. Wine was good, felt this was good value for Venice and service was smily and helpful.

Helpful?
2 Thank Warwickpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner and trully enjoyed the meal. Good good, wine, service and ambiance. It was a better value for money as the food is authentic and better priced than restaurants targeted to tourists with the "tourist menu". This Osteria was very good and it is worth to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jukia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing