We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious food at a reasonable le price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi

Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi
Calle dell'Oca | Cannaregio, 4367 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
0412412747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 1,361 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a reasonable le price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We (couple with 2 children) booked one hour in advance on a Friday night in late September and had no trouble reserving a table outside (small inner courtyard). The place is not too easy to find, we had to use our GPS on the phone.

We shared a couple of fish appetizers and everybody had a "secondo with contorno" (main dish) which was both excellent and reasonably sized. The two desserts were top notch, especially the hot chocolate cake. Staff was friendly and had no trouble with our requests to accommodate a few changes in the menu we required for our kids.

A few notes: there is not a very wide choice of beverages for young children (coke, fanta and orange juice) and the service was not as quick as we would have liked (kids were getting tired after a day walking here and there).

Price was not too cheap but still reasonable considering it's Venice. Overall, highly reccommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Masorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    433
    82
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It is hard to find a really good restaurant in Venice (without busting your wallet). This restaurant has a very good menu. The presentation of the food is top notch and the food is excellent. The prices are very reasonable for such good food. Not to mention the staff is very nice and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whitey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and i turned up without a reservation on a busy night and were seated in 10 mins. Menu was all in Italian. I understand a little bit of the language but we ordered some dishes which were to be a surprise. Highlights of the meal were mixed fish and vegetable starter and my spaghetti with clams. Meal was washed down with good wine and good service. Very reasonably priced restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mark_sincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“This was our best dining experience in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had no reservation, but the made a table for us.
Prices are perfectly low for the quality you get.
They translate the Italian menu, but don't have an English menu and that's a charm.
The food is prepared excellent, it's not high tech but it's very tasty.
Waitress was very friendly and open.
This is a go-to dinner place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Possibly the best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were lucky to get in without a reservation (even with a party of 2), which we accomplished (barely) by showing up very early (before 7). Seated in the small front room, which we enjoyed greatly, one of us getting a view of the bar where locals crowded for a glass of wine, the other of us getting a small peek into the kitchen. Menu is handwritten in Italian but explained carefully in English by the hostess. Food was great. Atmosphere, which I usually don't care much about, was lively and relaxed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi also viewed

 

Been to Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing