We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Close...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Paruta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Paruta
Ranked #70 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“So Close...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had reserved a Junior Suite room in this hotel for three nights as from the 23rd of March,2013. We had studied the accommodation on Trip Advisor and dreamed of staying here since we discovered it! The rooms looked so stunningly beautiful so we were extremely excited as we arrived in reception.
This was very quickly followed by despair as we were informed that they had no record of our booking and the hotel was fully booked!!! I showed them our confirmation papers to which they informed us that they had had some glitches with their computer system.
We were obviously incredibly disappointed and nervous about where we were going to sleep having travelled from Manchester that day! This is where my negative review turns into a positive review as although the two receptionists received a few angry words from me I recognised that the situation was not their fault!
Alessandra and her colleague whose name I do not know ( sorry ) were apologetic and worked tirelessly to find us alternative accommodation which was of equal par to the room we had booked. We were given coffee and biscuits and invited to their daily tea and cakes which are free to their guests each afternoon. Their Bellboy also escorted us across the cobbles to our new hotel!
Their professionalism throughout was exceptional and we would like to thank them for their efforts! We remain saddened we were not able to stay there and would love to return to give them a second chance though that's unlikely with money tight! :-(
I would suggest to anyone planning to stay here to confirm teir booking before travelling to ensure you don't encounter the same disappointment, otherwise, I would say go and enjoy as from what we saw it was still our dream hotel! :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cath4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    226
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
135
563
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We checked in for one evening at the Palazzo Paruta, and my family checked in for four nights. The location is near San Angelo dock, a ten minute walk to San Marcos Square. The rooms are lovely - especially the quadruple room (151) with an amazing chandelier. The buffet breakfast spread is great too. My only gripe would be the service. The staff were very dull and even snooty at times. When asking questions they would tell us to hold and were more worried about answering the phone than ensuring our stay was pleasurable. It snowed in Venice and my aunt actually fell down and slipped on the icy stairs at the B and B. The concierge woman initially started to run to see if she was okay (my aunt sprawled out on the ground) and instead, quickly ran back to her ringing telephone without any words exchanged if my aunt was seriously injured. I do appreciate the free bottle of champagne to celebrate my marriage, but I will say I was very disappointed in the service. On top of that, the antique store directly across from the B and B accused my poor mother of stealing jewelry in the shop! It's a good value for the room and location - but please prearrange for the porter to meet you at the dock and walk you to the B and B or you'll never find it if you're new to Venice. As for the service, the blonde woman needs to smile more and act more interested in her clients. Maybe that's just Italy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

we had a super time staying here in venice , location was superb.. water taxis and buses were very close by also it is very easy walking distance to all the tourist spots.. superb bars and restaurants close by and we had a gondola ride right outside the hotel front doors... the room was extra large ], high ceilings, all in good order and very comfortable, great breakfast and nice complimentary afternoon teas etc.. the only downside for me was that wifi was not accessible in room. we had to go outside or down to reception to get a signal.. and i needed wifi to keep in contact with work etc.. i did speak to the staff and i felt it wasn't just a technical hitch on that day and that they knew they had a problem with the signal in general.. but other than that i would say a great hotel nice staff and superb location....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot in Venice. Located in Campo San Angelo, which makes it pretty easy to find, it is within walking distance of pretty much everything in Venice with both St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge less than 15 minutes away (be sure to have a pocket map handy!). It is also only 5 minutes from the San Angelo waterbus stop which is extremely handy. We stayed in one of the junior suites with a canal view. The room was large, well furnished (if perhaps a little tired looking) and the bed was huge! I would say that the canal view doesnt offer a great deal due to the proximity of the building's opposite but then space is at a premium in Venice! The staff were extremely helpful and a nice breakfast was provided. The hotel is also very quiet with a nice courtyard area to relax in. Palazzo Paruta also offered a complimentary trip via watertaxi to a Murano glass factory which we took advantage of and would recommend should you have some time spare.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights on the 20th March and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Gorgeous, clean room and really nice breakfast. I recommend asking the staff to make pancakes as they were brilliant! Great location, easy to find and in walking distance from everything we wanted to see. Right near the vaparetto stops. Really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back, 10/10.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Firstly, I can't imagine why some people are leaving negative reviews, because I had a lovely time.
Those that have been to Venice before will know that it is a labyrinth to navigate through, though myself and my partner found it incredibly easy to find this hotel. Straight off the S.Angelo Waterbus 15minutes stop from P. Roma (Bus Station).

**Note on transport from airport to venice** Ideally the easiest and by far the cheapest way to travel from Marco Polo airport is to catch the ACTV bus from the airport to P.Ie Roma (Bus station) you can pre purchase tickets from the Veniceconnected website, or purchase them at the airport, on a machine just across the room from picking up your luggage. The journey will take around 25 minutes, and the staff on the bus are very helpful and will answer any queries. Once at the P.le Roma bus station, you can jump on the waterbus marked 1 it will be on a white sign. You may have to have a quick nose around to find the right que to join but it is very straight forward.
Then you can ride that for about 10 minutes until you get to Saint Angelo waterbus stop.*

The hotel, was just lovely, the room was just the right size, and the staff were more than helpful. Always ready to help with your every needs. We stayed in a Standard double room, and for what we thought would be your basic room, turned out to be a hugely romantic, venetian room of perfect size. For what ultimately you are using the room for, I can't see the need for the negative reviews.

Our room was ready as soon as we got there, and the receptionist was able to help out straight away with any questions we had. They are even kind enough to look after your luggage ( For Free) should you need to leave it there for the day after checkout.

Breakfast was lovely, a nice quiet room on the second floor with everything you need for a filling breakfast, for a long day roaming the streets of Venice.

They have free WiFi available, both wireless and cable. Just ask and they will provide you with a code.

The location of this hotel is fantastic, if you want to get to the heart of Venice quickly. With a 10 minute walk from Saint Marks Square, and 3 minutes from the nearest waterbus stop (S.Angelo) you can easily venture out without the worry of getting lost. Each bus stop and landmark are noted on signs, posted on the side of buildings. With an arrow pointing towards the destination.

As much as you will obviously want to see the landmark buildings and museums, I highly recommend venturing out during the day away from the tourist areas as you will find some really nice views and opportunities for photos. I highly recommend also taking the waterbus to S.Giorgio, which gives amazing views across to St.Marks Square.

Overall, I had a fantastic time in Venice, and would recommend it to anybody that is looking to go.
I don't think there are many Cities that can offer what Venice has.

Feel free to message me about anything else.

Room Tip: We chose the Standard Double room. Which was absolutley lovely, it seems some have given bad reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is perfect for your stay in Venice! Great location within walking distance of the Grand Canal, St Marks square etc.

The hotel itself is immaculate, the rooms are gorgeous, Our particular room was small but so cosy and full of venician charactor. Huge wooden beams on the roof, gorgeous big bed, a little table with venician biscuits and a bottle of proseco on arrival. Breakfast again was in a beautiful venician style room, a friendly italian waitor would make you fresh chocolate and cream crapes and coffee, you also had good choice of breads, fruits, yoghurts etc.

Visiting Venice is an amazing experience but also very tiring, you find yourself doing a huge amount of walking, finding your way around the huge maze of alleyways, at the end of the day getting back to the Palazzo Paruta was like hiding out in a cosy, peacful little hide away.

Really would love to go back sometime!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamDSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#72 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
San Marco
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#27 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#7 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Paruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Paruta

Property: Palazzo Paruta
Address: Campo Sant'Anzolo San Marco 3824 | Campo Sant'Angelo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Paruta 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Paruta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Paruta Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing