We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location, lovely breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Paruta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Paruta
Ranked #70 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice hotel, good location, lovely breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked this hotel so we could be close to La Fenice teatro where we saw LaTraviatta. The location was perfect, close to the opera, some good restaurant and lovely part of the city. The hotel was comfortable, a very good breakfast was served. The receptionist were very efficient and welcoming. Thank you. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    224
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
134
560
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked our trip to Italy (Rome and Venice) thru Costco so I had no idea what the place would be like but since I trust Costco's service I knew it would be fine. I was not wrong and now that I'm reading the reviews I have to put my 2 cents here: the place was wonderful! yes, it was very convenient to all and yet it was so quiet and peaceful once you were there. The breakfast was great, great choices of plenty of everything, we didn't enjoyed the afternoon snacks (I wished we had now that I read they even had Gelato!) because we were getting back late in the evening after walking the streets all day. The room was roomy and very clean and we had no issued with the a/c, we even slept in the pull out beds, which were very comfortable by the way, because our daughters refused to give up the magnificent bed with the blue canopy and drapes (just like in the picture), they thought it was a princess bed and they would not budge on this. We only stayed 2 nights and went on our way to Rome for the rest of the trip but we all agreed that our favorite stay was Venice and I the hotel and their wonderful staff was part of our pleasant memories there. I will most certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this hotel after literally hours of searching reviews and websites. We were booking only a few weeks before travel and needed three/four rooms and everything was booked. We made reservations through Hotels.com and this is probably our only complaint. They advertised all rooms as being able to accommodate three, which is simply untrue. We had to book an extra room when we arrived. So beware of hotels.com.
However, the hotel itself was wonderful. Given that half of Venice is being eaten away by salt water this place is in wonderful, clean condition. There were two front desk staff we interacted with, and both were extremely helpful and kind. The same can be said for the chef and waitress at breakfast, and the young man serving afternoon treats. This is an important point because most Venetians we encountered were NOT friendly. They're probably sick and tired of tourists, and they show it. Even restaurant service is offered in a less than gracious manner.
Terrific location, close to all, yet peaceful. Very pleasant garden and terrace. Beautiful Venetian decoration throughout. The rooms were fine, clean and comfortable, nicely appointed. We enjoyed being able to come and go to the major sites without too much walking, and our little hotel quietly waiting for our return!
Some reviews on here complain of poor AC but it was fine for our visit, mid August.
And so to the breakfast....if any of you have experienced the regular 'free; breakfast at an American Hilton Garden, or similar hotel, then this place will stick in your memory. Fruits, deserts, cereals, fresh breads, champagne, tiramisu, freshly cooked-to-order crepes etc. etc.
And all this presented in a beautiful display, a breakfast probably close to better than any hotel we've been to. Very, very good.
Overall I would absolutely definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leavinghomeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lovely and huge room - it feels a bit like one of the museum 'how they used to live' rooms - only because it is so grand - everything gilt and dramatic high ceilings, windows and all very wow-y. The service is excellent - very friendly indeed - which is saying something with Venice being overrun with tourists but the staff here seem like nothing is too much trouble for them. Everything seems in very good order and well maintained so I am not sure about the 'False advertising' review. We have two rooms - one is superior and is amazing, and the other is just a standard room - which is also very plush but not quite so enormous!

Room Tip: First floor superior room seems like a good option - a bit more expensive but huge 'wow' fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and absolutely loved it!
We had a standard room and were a bit concerned we might be in the attic after reading other reviews. We were however on the ground floor just off the pretty courtyard. Yes the room was small but it was nicely decorated and had a big bathroom and we seemed to be the only residents using the courtyard so it was like our own private garden!
The management were discreet but always willing to help and make your stay special.
Gorgeous breakfast ,lovely to be offered champagne a great start to our anniversary! Complimentary coffee between 4 and 5.30pm was something we really appreciated and looked forward to after a day sightseeing and shopping!
The hotel was so tranquil we couldn't believe we were only 10 mins from the hustle and bustle of St. Marks square.
If youre looking for a beautiful, romantic Venetian experience this hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request not to be in the attic ! We did and the management took notice of this. If you like a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiggymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy such a wonderful romantic stay away together. Your feedback will be shared with our staff, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Nicola Sambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Palazzo Paruta lives up to expectations.

LOCATION:
At a maximum 5 minute walk from the vaporetto, which is a little confusing once you get off the boat until you get your bearings. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard, a great terrace, wifi and they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room along with Italian cookies when we got there. It was super well located, as within 7 minutes of walking distance to San Marco Square, The Rialto Bridge and The Accademia Bridge. Lots of good restaurants and snack bars all around Campo Sant’ Angelo.

ROOM:
The room, was super clean, super neat and in very good condition. The bathroom was double-sized and I had no hot water issues. The cleaners did a great job every day and the room smelled fresh every day upon our return.

BREAKFAST :
Breakfast was better than advertised. The best part of this hotel was the breakfast room and buffet spread each morning. Waiters in tuxedos took your coffee order and made it to order for you. The buffet included meats, cheese, eggs (hardboiled or scrambled), cereals, pastries, fruit salad, tiramisu and other cakes and they also offered made to order omelettes or crepes. This is included in your room price. The breakfast room is also beautifully decorated in traditional Venitian style.

SERVICE:
Excellent ! Every time we were at the reception, we were greeted with a smile. All the staff was always very helpful and welcoming. All you had to do is ask and they would do their best to serve you. If you needed information, the front desk people were very knowledgeable and would give all the information they could.

EXTRA:
Every day, between 4pm and 5:30pm, on the upper terrace, they would serve complimentary coffee, iced coffee, gelato and cakes. This is a really nice extra as it usually cost a few euro elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZibiPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Our complimentary coffe-break including iced coffee cream and our special "granita" (very much like an American 'snow cone') is a unique extra service that we offer our guests. Glad to hear you found it nice. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Nicola Sambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel expecting a nice double deluxe room, as per the photos shown on the hotels website however the room we were given was nothing like those advertised (See image attached, comparing the two). It was smaller, run down, dirty and extremely tired. Apart from that, the room had a very strong musty/mouldy smell that the hotel obviously was aware of as there were strong air fresheners plugged into the power points in an attempt to mask the smell. The bathroom also had mould in the grout with broken fixtures in the shower (see pictures). When we asked to change rooms we were told the hotel was full and that they would spray some more air freshener in the room, they also told us to leave the door open for a bit which resulted in a room full of Mosquitos!

In addition to the disaster of a room, the man on the front desk was rude and un-interested in helping as he said he was the only person on duty (the only hotel I've stayed at in the world that has 1 person on duty at 6pm).

The following day, we were moved to another room, which still had a smell to it, although not as bad. This room was also NOTHING like the rooms shown on the website, it was such a let down the beautiful pictures we saw on the site. This room had carpet that was terribly stained (see pictures) and no number on the door, so we spent about 5 minutes trying to find our room.

The wi-fi doesn't work in the rooms (either of the rooms we were in), only out in the court-yard or reception area which is really annoying..

The cherry on top was on the third day, we went back up to our room to drop some things off and the maid was in the room cleaning... when we walked in she also had a friend that didn't work at the hotel sitting on our bed chatting with her whilst she cleaned our room. Despite the obvious security problems with this, it is also the most unprofessional thing I've ever seen. At this point we just gave up on hoping we would have any positive experiences at this hotel.

This is not a 4 star hotel, despite costing as much as one. Better value can be found elsewhere in Venice. Avoid this property at all costs.

Room Tip: To get the best room, book one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rmorris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Morris,
Thank you for letting us know about your less than spectacular stay with us. We understand clearly how guests can get frustrated by not getting the room they want. In reviewing your reservation I see that you booked one standard double room and not one superior double room (so the comparing you’ve made is absolutely misleading and false). As far as the little traces of mould in the grout near the bathtub there’s no excuses. As far as the cleanliness of your room, I wish you had informed us at the time as we could have taken action to make you feel better. We do run a very clean hotel as you read from the many guests that stay with us, so this is not the norm, and for that I apologize. The broken fixtures in the shower (we are talking about the little ring of the support bar) was damaged by the clients departed in the morning of your arrival date and fixed the day after when this little accessories became available in the shop. Unfortunately due to our high occupancy we did not have another room available at the moment for a room change as per your request but we have provided the next morning. We are sorry that you spent such a long time (5 minutes) to find the room because there was not the room number. Your room was on the fourth floor where exist only one room so we don’t understand why it was so difficult to find it. It is also strange that the wi-fi doesn’t work in both rooms you had as both rooms have installed inside the wi-fi router. I wish you had informed us at the time also about this inconvenience but you didn’t. The person you found in the room while the maid was cleaning was not an her friend but was the plumber who just fixed the air conditioning. Our guest’s safety and security is of the upmost importance and building entrance is controlled via the reception desk 24 hours a day along with cameras placed in all public areas.
Nicola Sambo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#75 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
San Marco
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#27 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#7 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Paruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Paruta

Property: Palazzo Paruta
Address: Campo Sant'Anzolo San Marco 3824 | Campo Sant'Angelo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Paruta 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Paruta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Paruta Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing