We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cicchetti Heaven”

Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi
Ranked #40 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
232 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Cicchetti Heaven”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

When it comes to cicchetti here truly is no better place in Venice than Gia Schiavi in Dorsoduro. Everyone grabbing a bite from the counter along with an ombra (little wine) or spritz. You either eat the sandwiches straight by the bar or you sit outside in the street - on the wall, on the steps - right by the canal. I always go back, it makes the perfect mini lunch or afternoon treat after walking the backstreets of Venezia.
(Indoors it's plates & glasses, outdoors disposable plates & papercups.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    315
    59
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great ciccetti and wine”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stopped by one lunchtime at the end of April following some research on TripAdvisor where it seemed to be highly recommended. We weren’t particularly hungry, having had a decent breakfast at the hotel but wanted to sample the atmosphere at this lovely, ciccetti bar. We arrived at a good time as the place hadn’t yet got busy and we took our places at the bar where we ordered five ciccetti and a couple of glasses of wine. I wanted to try the Amarone wine as I like reds but ones that are quite full-bodied and not too dry. My husband ordered a Chianti. Both wines were really nice and the ciccetti were lovely, tasty little snacks. The bill was €12 which we thought was good value, bearing in mind my wine cost €5. We were amazed at the hundreds of different wines for sale on the shelves and saw people coming in to buy bottles which were nicely wrapped to take out. By the time we left the place was really busy and people were taking their snacks and drinks outside to enjoy in the sunshine. Be aware that it is standing only. A great experience whilst wandering round Venice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rum_coolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food great ambiance”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A place not to be missed !! Great food, very friendly waiters and good value for money. Chichetti are yummy worth the try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariaabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Phenomenal, a real treat!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Can't say enough good things about the cicchetti at this totally charming place by the canal at Fondamenta Nani in Dorsodura. Get your wine and Aperol, stand inside or outside, and enjoy! the best cicchetti in town and at an excellent price. Now this is the best of Venice with locals and students from nearby university, hardly a tourist in sight.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sinimustvalge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Typical and very good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is an over-crowded typical venetian restaurant. Lots of locals eat and drink here all day long. Great chichetti! Fair wines. Reasonable prices.
Worth visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing