We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi
Ranked #38 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
308 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great wine bar with amazing selection of cicheti. We dropped in here 3 times during our stay in Venice. The glasses of wine only cost about €2-3 and you get a plate of cicheti selection for under €10. Love this place

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    318
    58
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great tucked-away wine shop/bar”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A really interesting shop with tastings by the glass and small cicchetti.

There is no wine list – the owner invites you to tell him what wine you like and he will suggest something. We were delighted to be able to buy Amarone by the glass (not readily available elsewhere) which was lovely.

We asked for assistance in finding a particular wine we had tried locally and cannot buy where we live in the UK. The owners are very knowledgable and pleased to offer advice. This is a fascinating store – you could spend hours here browsing all the shelves – a fun experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Local greatness”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Very cheap and very yummy. The place is always humming with locals. 2 euro wine, 1 euro cicchetti you just can't go wrong. Do yourself a favour and stop by for a taste of real Venice.

Helpful?
2 Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun at the off-licence”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is as good a place as I have found in Venice to buy and take away a bottle, from fine wines through spirits to gutsy plonk. But the extra dimension is the avilability of excellent cichetti to mop up the liquor sampled on site. There is nowhere to sit but this adds somehow to the fun, balancing tipples and plates-full of savouries and jostling among the inevitable crowd who can;t get enough of the eperience. Don't miss it. You won't find its like anywhere else

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great quality, low prices”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

People who say you can't eat good food cheaply in Venice can't have been here. Was there last week and we had 4 glasses of wine, 5 ciccheti and one panini - 16 Euros for everything. You'd be pushed to buy the glasses of wine in UK for that, the quality was excellent and the staff so trusting that when I came to pay the bill they asked me what we had had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing