We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi

Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi
Ranked #39 of 1,365 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great wine bar with amazing selection of cicheti. We dropped in here 3 times during our stay in Venice. The glasses of wine only cost about €2-3 and you get a plate of cicheti selection for under €10. Love this place

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    276
    47
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great tucked-away wine shop/bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A really interesting shop with tastings by the glass and small cicchetti.

There is no wine list – the owner invites you to tell him what wine you like and he will suggest something. We were delighted to be able to buy Amarone by the glass (not readily available elsewhere) which was lovely.

We asked for assistance in finding a particular wine we had tried locally and cannot buy where we live in the UK. The owners are very knowledgable and pleased to offer advice. This is a fascinating store – you could spend hours here browsing all the shelves – a fun experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Local greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Very cheap and very yummy. The place is always humming with locals. 2 euro wine, 1 euro cicchetti you just can't go wrong. Do yourself a favour and stop by for a taste of real Venice.

Helpful?
2 Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun at the off-licence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is as good a place as I have found in Venice to buy and take away a bottle, from fine wines through spirits to gutsy plonk. But the extra dimension is the avilability of excellent cichetti to mop up the liquor sampled on site. There is nowhere to sit but this adds somehow to the fun, balancing tipples and plates-full of savouries and jostling among the inevitable crowd who can;t get enough of the eperience. Don't miss it. You won't find its like anywhere else

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great quality, low prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

People who say you can't eat good food cheaply in Venice can't have been here. Was there last week and we had 4 glasses of wine, 5 ciccheti and one panini - 16 Euros for everything. You'd be pushed to buy the glasses of wine in UK for that, the quality was excellent and the staff so trusting that when I came to pay the bill they asked me what we had had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing