We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Verde

Bar Verde
Ranked #1,053 of 1,363 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castello
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first meal in Venice. I myself decided on the carbonara whilst my partner decided on the tomato pasta. My carbonara turned out to taste like easy mac, whilst my partner only giving her pasta an average score. We both got a latte which was really nice, alongside a croissant. This alongside a really attentive staff member managed to save this from the 2/5 score. We also paid more than we expected.

Helpful?
Thank Eugene T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    40
    30
    12
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sandwiches and pigeons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The place was ok. A sandwich place with good coffee. Very much an Italian place. One of our waiters was a very handsome guy and the one that attended us a very ugly and fat one. :) Very Italian and great for a brunch.

Just beware of the pigeons. The hosts seem to allow pigeons to enter their small place. One of the flew over us and crashed in the window just in front of our coffee. Not a nice thing to see (specially if you don't like this ugly flying things).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank condottiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
789 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 864 helpful votes
“Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Busy thoroughfare & cafe but great atmosphere. Handy for breakfast & a cheaper alternative to some of the whopping prices being charged for breakfast at the hotels. Good choice for lunch & a table outside if you can grab it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Countering the other reviewers we gave it a try and ate panini for lunch in this place. What is rude for others to us was just Italian and it was courteous enough. One thing it wasn't was pretentious but the price was according to that.

Trust the locals wherever you go, they say, and there were a lot in here.

One funny thing is that pigeons sometimes join you in the inside of the bar but they are also everywhere and they'll be kicked out in no time.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lebarrueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great people watching with an outside table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stopped here for lunch after the Doge's Palace tour. It was close and convenient and in Rick Steve's guidebook. They had a nice selection of salads, pastas, and sandwiches. They also served a good cappuccino. We sate outside and it was a great location for people watching. A little accordian player even came by and serenaded us. Service is quick and curteous at this lunch stop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaR0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Verde also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing