We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The breakfast was the best part”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #186 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. About halfway between San Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge. There are great restaurants within walking distance, easy to get the water taxi from this location. The breatkfast was the best part, they did a nice job with the food layout. The staff is friendly, althought not overly so.

We had rooms in an adjoining building. The rooms were small, especially the bathroom and shower. I am used to small showers in Europe, especially Italy, but these were exceptionally so. Still, good value for the money. I would have no problem staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel San Luca was great.
It was centrally located 2 minutes to the Rialto Bridge and 4-5 minutes to San Marco Plaza.
The room was comfortable and very clean.
The breakfast was good and plentiful.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We recommend it and We plan to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josefwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room was in the annex which was around the corner. The room was very basic. I'm a neat freak and found hairs on our towels and the couch was stained. The shower was so small that you couldn't bend over. If you are over 185 pounds you will NOT fit. The breakfast room was small but not a problem. The staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majornelson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Although the room was clean and adequate for a couple of nights I found the set up rather poor. We had a 4 bed room but this was apart from the main hotel situated down a little alley 100 yards from the main entrance.It stated tea and coffee facilities yet there was no coffee or breakfast tea and when I asked for it I was told that they don't have any and we had to buy a jar of coffee costing 10 euros. The breakfast room consisted of 8 tables that seated two people so there were people queuing or leaving and coming back later. The breakfast itself consisted of a plate of ham cheese and salami. There were a few yoghurts in a fridge with the juice. On a table there were pots of jam and nutella melba toast two cereals and a bowl of fruit. In a bread bin were croissants and cobs. You were given a cup of tea or coffee. We did have a free trip to Murano from the hotel. Overall it was not like the pictures we had seen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnybabe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good location.. That's about it. We had the 2 bed apartment which was a few feet from the hotel. I guess what turned me off was the bathroom. The toilet and bidet was in the shower. Tiny tiny space with outdated fixtures. Whenever someone took a shower, the whole floor was flooded with water.
The kitchen was suppose to be fully furnished but was lacking . Stove did t work, everything was old and over used. Just gross. Wifi was non existent.
The main bedroom was large, 2nd room not too bad. It was expensive but the location was good. Still wouldn't stay there again tho.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in an Annex double room and will comment on my experience of this room. We checked in at the Hotel San Luca where the staff were very helpful. We had to store our baggage as no early check in was available, this was left in a hallway. We returned at check in time and were taken to the annex building which is a lot further away from the main hotel than indicated. The room is in an old palace and we had a courtyard view. You have your own key to enter the building. There is a phone with direct access to the hotel if you need them. There are only 4 rooms on the first floor and each of them opens into the breakfast room. The room was basic as expected but had everything you need and was clean. The shower was over the bath. Breakfast was boiled eggs, ham, cheese, yoghurt, fruit juice, water and a few pastries, and there was a coffee machine. Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 10.30 and was left out with no refrigeration during this time so my advice would be to eat as close to 8.30 as you can. My WI Fi would not connect in the room but was ok if I sat in the breakfast area. The minibar fridge is shared and contains the breakfast food so there is not much room for drinks etc. Depending on what site you use to book this hotel there are various descriptions of what the hotel offers so be aware you may not get all that is offered. I used the hotels site and did not get the free drink or slippers, and there was no ironing facilities. I would recommend this hotel (annex room) but make sure you do your research and remember this is Venice with high hotel prices for very basic hotels. If using the water taxi the directions given by the hotel are confusing, turn by the Quadri cafe keep walking and you will eventually come to Calle Del Fabbri, the street zig zags and the hotel is a lot further than the 50 metres given in your directions.

Room Tip: I liked the privacy of the annex room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lori_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel at central location, very helpful staff, tidy, free WLAN. But: In 106 we had such a small and short bed that it was difficult to have a good sleep which is still the main purpose of booking a hotel. With a bigger bed we would have entitely happy!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#205 of 387 in Venice
391 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#102 of 387 in Venice
906 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#210 of 387 in Venice
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#127 of 387 in Venice
849 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#91 of 387 in Venice
512 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#142 of 387 in Venice
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4671 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $96 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Luca 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing