We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience in Venice”
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AD Place Venice
Ranked #39 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in AD Place and it lived up to all it's glowing reviews. We asked for the purple/green room seen in the ads, and were given it. Our window overlooked one of the canals and we would often hear singing from the gondola's going by - really cool Venetian experience!

The rooftop patio is amazing, and the staff are very attentive and service oriented. They brought us tons of snacks (free of charge) and chilled Prossecco (quite affordable). The front-desk staff was also very helpful in sharing with us where to go, what to do, and how to avoid the tourist traps.

Breakfast/Bar is also very nice. Definitely would recommend to stay again!

Room Tip: We asked for the "Purple and Green Room from the Ads" and were given it. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 933 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on our recent trip to Venice. We took a water taxi from the train station, which pulled right up to the hotel! The hotel staff is wonderful! The desk staff was the same who took your luggage on and off the water taxi, rather the a porter.

The hotel is whimsical, straight out of Alice in Wonderland. Only 12 rooms. Our was on the ground floor My kids had the pull out sofa, which made walking around a bit difficult. I could have done without the stationary exercise bike that sat in the corner of the room. I'm not sure why it's there.

Our room room was a nice size, with a beautiful, draped bed. The tv was mounted on the ceiling. Kind of awkward.

The bathroom was small, as was the shower (think cruise ship size).

The breakfast was great! You could squeeze your own orange and grapefruit juice.

The only reason I'm not giving this a 5/excellent was because of their lack of elevator. We were traveling with grandparents, whose rooms were on the upper floors. They had to walk up several huge flights of stairs to reach their rooms. The breakfast was also located on the upper floors. They do have some sort of chair lift, but it would only take one person at a time.

Overall, a really nice hotel

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Howleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently spent four nights at AD Place (July 29th through August 2nd). The hotel is easy to find (just follow the directions on the website), and when you arrive in the main lobby you are greeted with colorful tapestries, candlelight, and a beautiful red Murano glass chandelier. The check-in staff was exceptionally polite, and they escorted us upstairs to the Maggio Room. Yes, there are stairs to climb, but they are not onerous and consistent with most properties in Venice. (Preservation codes strictly regulate what property owners can and can't do, and all of the bellyaching I see about the stairs is really misplaced but typical of American "instant gratification" attitudes.)

The Maggio Room was wonderfully decorated with purples, limes, and white accents. The bathroom was nicely decorated. Narrow, but more than sufficient for hotel stays. The room has great windows that open to flower boxes and the canal view below. Oftentimes we were treated to the sweet serenades of gondoliers going by, signing and sometimes playing the accordion as they passed below. It was very enchanting.

Complimentary breakfast each morning was buffet style, with fresh juice, eggs, meats, breads, and other assortments. We always enjoyed breakfast and found it went a long way as we walked the streets of Venice.

Speaking of walking the streets of Venice, AD Place is perfectly situated between the heart of San Marco Square and Accademia Bridge. It was very easy to explore Venice from this location, as many other reviewers have attested.

I encourage everyone to pre-pay if they can and if they know their plans are fixed. The pre-pay took 12% off the total price, and it included snacks, a bottle of sparkling wine, and a trip to the Murano glass factory. All were incredible perks and very enjoyable.

We feel this was a perfect, service-oriented hotel that showcased Venetian style and the Venetian independent spirit very well.

Room Tip: If you're someone who doesn't want to climb stairs, request a ground-floor room. But, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRIANandRONNIE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was in Venice for a few days, and for the first time, decided to stay at one of these well-reviewed boutique hotels instead of the tried and true large ones. AD Place is perfectly located right behind Santa Maria del Giuglio and the Gritti Palace and across a small canal from the Fenice, which puts it fairly equidistant from St Mark's Basilica and the Rialto Bridge. In other words, you don't have to walk far to get to anywhere you'd like to go in Venice, Even Dorsoduro is easily accessible by walking two minutes to the traghetto that will take you across the Grand Canal to Dorsoduro. Some like being on the Grand Canal--I tend to prefer being in a nice hotel that fronts some of the smaller side canals in Venice, and AD Place very much fills that bill.

Once you get past location, however, there is reason to do your homework when choosing a boutique hotel in Venice. The people there at the front desk were very nice and very helpful. However, as charming and "Venetian" this old palazzo was from the outside, the inside was rather dark and unwelcoming. The lobby is narrow and without much light, although the designers did try to give it an old Veneitian look through the inclusion of tapestries and unusual upholstered chairs. My room was right off the lobby--again a rather dark room with any light coming from just one small window that overlooked a canal. It was decorated well enough, if your tastes runs to the electic and/or exotic. This is not your standard Four Seasons furnishings you will find here. The bed was comfortable, and while the room was small, it served its purpose. The bathroom was tiny, with just a shower in it that was pretty tight--not much room for maneuvering. Also, the room lacked the standard bath amenities you would find in most hotels--only the basics.

The common spaces beyond the lobby were passable. There is no elevator in the hotel, although there is some sort of stair lift that you can load your luggage on. That means of course walking up several flights of stairs if you have a room at the top. The dining area where they serve a gratis continental breakfast is on an upper floor, so not all that accessible. There is a rooftop "deck" if you can call it that--pretty small and not very accommodating. If the public areas were more inviting, I might be tempted to get my overall grade up to 4, given the great location and the general appearance and condition of the rooms, but as a hotel that you can lounge and hang around in outside your room--not all that great.

When it comes to boutique hotels in Venice, there is a very wide assortment of them, so choose carefully. AD Place's location makes it worth considering, but you might find brighter, more inviting hotels elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room on the ground floor lest you chance a gondolier checking you out as he sails pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EvenlyOpinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a loft room. The hotel is very well located with an easy walk to St Marks sq. The reception staff were excellent and very helpful with their advice. Room was very nicely decorated and roof terrace great for a drink at nights. A great hotel overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSJS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights at AD Place in July. Most of the rooms are on the upper floors and there are many many stairs! But there are also some rooms on the lobby level so if stairs may be an issue for you I would request them. We were on the 2nd floor and the stairs helped us work off all the Gelati we were eating!

The room was clean and beautifully decorated in Venetian style. The room was not overly spacious but we had plenty of room for our bags and in the wardrobe. The bathrooms were nice and modern. Breakfast was great with everything you need - fruit, eggs, toast etc. The service was spot on and we also enjoyed drinks on the rooftop.

The location is very good and walking distance to everything. It takes 40mins on the ferry from the train station.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Great service and good location, not too far from St.Marks Square. Easy walking to most attractions. We had a lovely time in Venice and this hotel made it all the more better. We were upgraded on our second night from the superior double room to the suite because it was available which was awesome. We also loved the complimentary water taxi to Murano which is a must do if you are staying for 2 or 3 days. We would definitely stay here again when we are back in Venice :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miruths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
1,425 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,095 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: Fondamenta de la Fenice San Marco 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $150 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing