We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Italy!”
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AD Place Venice
Ranked #39 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at AD Place during a rainy weekend in Venice. It was a lovely hotel, very romantic rooms and we were pleased to have a huge window overlooking the canal below -- we could watch the gondolas pass... or even just the Venetian garbage boats (never have I been so impressed by a garbage truck ;)).

The room was very romantic -- we loved all the furnishings and bedding. Very unique. Everything else I'd say was good, not great. Breakfast was good, but if you came a little late and they were out of something -- they were not refilling it for you. At a hotel of this price, that was a little disappointing. Also, it seems they've opted for style over function in a lot of ways -- very stylish bar upstairs, but unclear if it's staffed or help yourself; very stylish entryway, but sometimes hard to find the front desk person.

All that said, we did like AD Place. The staff was friendly and gave us good recommendations on where to eat and drink, and what to see and do. If this is a huge splurge for you, I'd definitely investigate other options. But if you're intrigued by the decor and looking for a romantic hotel in Venice, this one does the trick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbender26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 933 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent 4 nights here on our Honeymoon, and a very nice hotel to spend it in. Location is central but quiet, close enough to walk to most places in minutes but being tucked away from the hustle and bustle is a tranquil haven of peace. Staff were very helpful and attentive, and the no children policy ensures all guests have the same objective. Room was comfortably furnished, bed was great and the bathroom, whilst small, was well equipped. Breakfast came with a good choice of different options, but when it was gone it was gone for that day. Not a problem we encountered ourselves, but did hear some of the later breakfast arrivals commenting. Would recommend for a quiet romantic break

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with a great view over a canal. Didn't see any other rooms, but looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSteveYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

tucked away in a quiet side street is the ad place.more expensive than we usually pay,but good value in venetian terms.
the room had a great bed,and came with a view over the waterway.
the breakfast here will satisfy most tastes,but the best thing about this hotel is the staff.
from the charming front desk team to the lovely Kamal on night duty,nothing was too much trouble.
recommended.

Mike and Rene

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just got back from a weekend staying at the Ad Place and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The location is great as it's only 5 mins max from the closest vaporetto stop. It's also vet central so walking and exploring is easy. The staff were helpful and our room was very pleasant (we were in December). Only criticism would be that the breakfast options, though nice, we're limited; I would have struggled to stay for longer than a short break. Also lots of stairs so caution if this is an issue. Would happily stay again

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Putney_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the AD place for our wedding anniversary last week. We had advised the hotel in advance that its a special occasion, however we found that we were booked into the worst room in the hotel which was on 4th Floor in the attic and nothing special was arranged by the hotel at all during our stay. The room was right next to the main air con generator for the whole building which was very noisy. Our room was always boiling hot and if we turned on the AC then it sounded like the room was about to take off! The bathroom was not really the standard I would expect of a 4* hotel as it contained old bits of random furniture which were just left in one corner without any real purpose, the towels were also often dirty. The room itself was really uncomfortable because of the heat and also the TV was pointless as there were only 2 english channels available, the room also looked run down and many of the lights didnt work as the bulbs were blown and not replaced. The wardrobe and the safe were also both broken. The breakfast was nice but basic and very quiet every morning in the breakfast area - and awkward to have any kind of conversations with my husband! As we stayed on the top floor, we had to climb 4 flights of stairs to get to our room and after a long day walking around venice its a killer! We had researched all the hotels in Venice before booking this one and it was also recommended by a friend but I am sorry to say it didnt live up to the hype. We have stayed at far better 4* hotels that actually warrant the money and spoil their guests on special occasions. The only reason I have given it 2 stars is because of its location. In my opinion there are far better hotels to stay at in Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bhavisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our anniversary trip and we loved it. We were upgraded to the suite which was awesome. Light with great views of the canals. The ocassional gondola passed beneath our window with the perfect Italian tenor. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff was a mixed bag. All were efficient but not overly helpful except for Beatrice who checked us in and was a gem. The place is small with only nine rooms and I don't know what the other rooms were like but if you like intimate and stylish, book the suite and enjoy!

Room Tip: Corner suite a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived late on a Monday evening due to irregular water buses from the airport, to be greeted by a warm welcome. I had previously contacted the hotel to arrange prosseco in our room on arrival as this was a surprise break for my partners 40th. I was delighted not only by how reasonably price the added extra was but the time that was taken with an additional glass of strawberries and snacks. As the title suggests Venice can be extraordinarily expensive (see additional restaurant review), but Ad Place provided a fantastic breakfast every morning, well designed and decorated rooms, great location and wonderful service all at a reasonable price. In fact it was better value to drink in the hotel then in the surrounding bars. A pleasant surprise was two have two windows within our rooms, which meant we could listen to the Gondoliers serenading their passengers most mornings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#26 of 385 in Venice
1,426 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,097 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: Fondamenta de la Fenice San Marco 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $151 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing