We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AD Place Venice
Ranked #40 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at AD Place in October 2010 for 5 days, during which we got married at Palazzo Cavalli!

What a great location and base for exploring the San Marco area, with the hotel being located right next to the Teatro La Fenice. The closest vaporetto (water bus) stop is Santa Maria del Giglio. Like most Venice hotels, AD Place can be a little hard to find at first, but if you remember it's next to the Santa Maria del Giglio church and the theatre, you can't go wrong.

The rooms are all individually designed, and we stayed on the ground floor in a junior suite. The decor is stunning, the beds huge and comfortable, the bathrooms well equipped and very modern.

Breakfast is the only food available in the hotel and was a little limited, but we were happy with bacon & eggs as the only warm option. One downside is the breakfast room is on the top floor and there is no lift, so if you have difficulty with stairs, maybe this hotel isn't ideal for you (although I heard they will bring breakfast to your room).

The staff were excellent, and even arranged for a surprise tray of Champagne & nibbles for our return on our wedding day. It's the little touches like this that make some hotels stand out and the reason why people visit again. Thank you!

I must agree with the other positive reviews of this excellent boutique hotel. If you enjoy the large hotel chains with countless facilities then maybe this hotel isn't right for you, but if you enjoy a personal service in unique and luxurious surroundings, I can't recommend AD Place highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for mosquito repellant when you check in. (It's a Venice problem being on water, not the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TenBobDaveWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    165
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
108
627
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

So glad we picked this hotel.
Getting there was easy from getting off at the S. Giglio stop on Line 1 of the vaporetto - straight up the little alley, through the small square (Campo San giglio) over the bridge to the left at the end of the square and then it's on your left. It's not signposted outside but just look for number 2557 which is on the outside of the building

The staff were lovely and spoke excellent English. There are no lifts but they will take your luggage up to your room for you. We were initially in "Dicembre" room, which was lovely. Small entrance area then separate bedroom area with 4 poster bed that had a tv above it on the ceiling! I think someone else has mentioned there's not much shelving in the bathroom but it's an insignificant thing compared to how great this hotel is overall.

We had a tour guide meet us at the hotel one morning and the manager overheard us telling her we'd just got married and when we returned in the afternoon we had been upgraded to "Marzo" room - which was incredible - small lobby, lounge with tv, minibar, coffee maker, tv and exercise bike (!). Then bedroom with 2 canal views another minibar and tv and a sony playstation. Bathroom had a huge bath, 2 sinks - the whole thing was amazing.

Even without the upgrade i would have been delighted with our stay - as i said staff were lovely, especially Alessandro who helped us with questions about directions/booking transfers etc, and if you need, they will print off boarding passes for you.
The breakfast room is lovely, with plenty of choice. You can make yourself an expresso from the machine but there is also a member of staff around who will ask if you want tea/coffee/cappucino etc.

The decor is amazing, a lovely twist on traditional Venetian style, with bright funky colours and interesting details on the coffee mugs and cutlery.

If you need to use a computer just ask at reception and they will give you a laptop and password, you can take the laptop to your room if you like or use it in the seating area in reception. There's also a little rooftop terrace with sofas which is nice to relax on in the afternoon after a day walking around the sights.

Very near St. Marks square - 5 mins maximum and Rialto about 10 mins and great that the S. Giglio stop is so close by. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

If you have any questions about this hotel or Venice feel free to PM me :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luba0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I spent the last 4 days of a two week trip to Italy at the AD Place in Venice. This is a hotel that is in an excellent location and close to the more popular sites in Venice, but in a quiet area. Late in the afternoon each day, we were serenaded by a wonderful singer on a gondola floating past the hotel and our room window and each morning, we heard the local church bells ringing!! The staff were all very courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent - good variety!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at the AD Place Venice after our cruise. The room was very nice, comfortable, clean and the view of the side canal was an added bonus. The service was excellent, no elevator but they carried our luggage for us and had a luggage lifter for the stairs. We had an early flight but they brought breakfast to our room any way. The location was good, close to everything. The staff gave good advice on restaurants, getting around and getting to the airport. We knew roughly where the hotel was but like anything in Venice with the narrow streets, you could walk right by if not careful. Very nice stay!

Room Tip: View of canal is nice, can hear the music and signing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bheaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
558 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

While a bit on the expensive side, this is a quirky hotel with great charm, that is superbly located, quiet and with staff that provide superb service

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in September 2010 for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The hotel was wonderful. Our room was beautiful, the breakfast was delicious and had plenty of choices, and the staff was very friendly. The location is great for individuals who want to visit several of the main sites in Venice. Very easy to get to from the train station. I would recommend to couples looking for a romantic spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli36422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I just concluded a two week tour of Italy, ending our trip at the Ad Place in Venice. What a gem of a hotel! The location is unbeatable, the staff is courteous, and the hotel itself has a nice balance of elegance and whimsy.

We booked a double room, expecting the typical small bedroom. What a pleasant surprise. While the bedroom itself was small, the bathroom -- and accompanying dressing room -- were quite nice, making the room overall feel much bigger than it was. Not to mention that our room overlooked the neighboring canal, which also happened to be a gondolier path. So we were serenaded with opera at sunset each night.

All in all, stay here. You can't beat the location and design at this price.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank catbarrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#27 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Property: AD Place Venice
Address: Fondamenta de la Fenice San Marco 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing