We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Dolce Vita” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AD Place Venice
Ranked #40 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Just a quick walk from the Giglio vaporetto stop, St. Mark's and the Rialto, this hotel could not be more convenient. And from the moment I walked through the door I felt relaxed and welcome. Beautiful red Murano chandelier, luxe patchwork wall hangings, warm woods, Henry James quote painted on the wall, dark chocolates at the front desk. All so charming! Friendly, super-fast, and easy check in, immediate upgrade {even though booked through an online hotel discount site}, amazing room {post & beam, hardwood floors). And after asking me where I wanted to go first {Harry's Bar}, and showing me how to get there on a map, the front desk manager carried my luggage up 4 flights of stairs. Bathrooms feature Etro toiletries and I don't think I've had a better night's sleep while traveling -- very quiet and oh so comfortable bed! The church bells of Santa Maria del Giglio will wake you as the sun is rising, and it is very likely that someone singing O Solo Mio will lull you to sleep. If a room is available at this hotel during your stay in Venice, book it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    163
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
105
620
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Beautiful and charming hotel that is well located in Venice. We loved our rooms as they were spacious, warm and comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and modern looking. The staff are extremely friendly, especially Alessandro (Alex) :). Every morning the breakfast/eating area had a lot of food and so much variety! Everything was well displayed.

I highly recommend people to stay this hotel while in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akpadham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with a family of 4 (2 teenagers). It was a great stay. The hotel was easy to find off of the water taxi stop. The location was great…close to St. Marks, but far enough away to be quiet in the evening. Beatrice, at the front desk, provided great guidance on dining and activities (gondola rides). Kamal was very accommodating and brought us complementary wine and snacks. Breakfast was good. The room had a great air conditioner…not a given in Europe. I had read that first floor rooms can be “aromatic” in Venice. That was not a problem here. We were in a downstairs room (the November room)...in terms of improvement, they had the potential for many satellite TV channels, but didn’t have the signal strength in that room to get most of them…except the Iranian channels…an inline amplifier would go a long way. They had also mounted the TV directly onto the ceiling above the bed…it seems neat, but it was tough to angle the remotes properly to operate the TV…it would have done better on the wall in front of the bed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of March. it was a bit difficult to find, arriving at St Marks Square by vapretta in the evening and in the dark. When we did find it, it was worth the treck.
The boutique hotel is small (twelve rooms all named after the months of the year, we were in Maggio) the hotel recepton is very quaint in a boroque kind of way, heavy velvet curtains, candels lighting the stairway and great venitian chaderliers. From the reception you walk up two flights of stairs (no lift) to the dinig room and most of the beedrooms lead off this large room. Our bedroom was beautiful, padded fabric walls, velvet curtains, four posted bed and looked out onto the canal. Breakfast was typical continental, but plenty of choice, and although there wasn't tea or coffee facilities in our room the coffee machine was always on in the dining room to help yourself.
The staff were very helpful, giving us tips on where to eat etc. The two managers were very helpful, especially kamel the night manager who couldn't do enough for us!
Our daughters organised a bottle of champain to be delivered to our room, not only did we get the champain, but also a tray full of nibbles, crisps, olives and fresh fruit, and there was no charge as it was our Ruby WA!! We enjoyed it so much we ordered another the next evening!!
all in all an excellent little hotel,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennireyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We chose Ad Place for our 30th Wedding Anniversary based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and what a fantastic choice it was!! The hotel provided everything we hoped for and expected - and more! From the minute we walked in, very early due to a 6.30 a.m. flight from Leeds Bradford, we were made to feel so welcome and at home. We didn't expect our room to be ready but without asking for it, we were offered refreshments and a bathroom to freshen up and get changed if we wanted. Throughout our stay the front desk staff were first class and always there to help and answer any questions. As our Anniversary was a special one we also had a tray of delicious nibbles and a bottle of Prosecco delivered free of charge on the first night.

When we did book in fully later in the day our room was just beautiful and so romantic. Good size throughout with a really good sized bathroom znd a wonderful shower. The whole stay was a truly relaxed, romantic and peaceful experience and we really couldn't find anything to fault!!

Breakfast was set out beautifully in the spacious dining room and provided a huge range of extremely fresh and tasty produce, from a range of fresh fruit/fresh fruit salad to continental pastries/breads/croissants to cold meats and cheeses to a warm selection of bacon, scrambled eggs and bolied eggs. Many of these are left for you to nibble on during the day if you wish - along with tea/coffee to help yourself to. A great and really refreshing way to start your day!

The location of the hotel - at the back of the Venice Opera House - is just perfect. Nowhere in Venice is far from anywhere else but the Ad Place is really central to access all areas. Boat 1 from P.Del Roma stops at Giglio stop on Grand Canal and the hotel is 3/4 minutes walk from there, if that.

Add to all that a great deal through Expedia for our three night stay and we had the perfect anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mp54jml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Planning for a romantic honeymoon or getaway? Look no more because this is just the perfect selection! We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon in March and was really proud of our choice. We were worried in case the web photographs and comments did not match reality. But what you see on the web is exactly what you will get, and with added value!!

We arrived on a wet and rainy day. Took the long way without knowing there was a short cut! We asked around for directions to the hotel with the name of the street and had no problem finding it because it was just that easy. Walked in the hotel lobby and before we could say a word, we were greeted and addressed with our names by the director of the hotel (as we found out later). Without further delay Alexander helped us with our luggage and took us to our room where we were introduced to a beautifully Victorian style decorated room with a bed like the ones Princesses sleep on! There are 12 themed rooms in total, and we got the Maggio room. We loved this room. The windows open to the canal below. You can also hear the church bells ringing during the day. It rained most of the time we were in Venice as it is Spring. But we were not bothered by it at all. In the stillness of the night you can hear the rain drops pitter pattering on the cobblestones with footsteps of a passerby echoing in the darkness. It is as if you were taken into one of Shakespeare's scenes. When the hotel learnt we were there for our honeymoon, we were given a package that includes a complimentary tour to one of Murano's glass factory and the best part is, free Champagne and romantic rose and candle decorations in our room on our first night! What more can we say...

This is a unique and boutique hotel that is located away from the crowdedness in the many areas of Venice from zillions of tourists every parts of the year. But no where is far from any where in Venice. Every place is convenient and within walking distance, otherwise the Vaporetti is of easy access. We found this place a great value for money, very clean and tidy, and breakfast is provided! Internet is charged in many Italy accommodations, but there is free wifi here and it is fast too.

Special thanks to Alexander and team for such a memorable stay in Venice. It made a great difference to our first experience in Venice, and we will definitely pick this hotel again when we return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chibi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stay there during carnival season, travelling with a baby. All the atmosphere of the hotel is great with a unique boutique style, the staff real helpful providing tips and prompt help with a smile. The location is great, just 5 min walking distance from S.Marco, even so quiet. Good breakfast. As improvement probably will be good to have in future baby chairs in this area.
On the last day we received as goodbye present Champagne and fruits which was a real nice from the staff.
Is a ideal place for a romantic trip to Venice. We stay in a room with the TV in the roof with a king size bed a space enough for the baby cot with a pleasant decoration.
For sure coming back to Venice this will be THE place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domingos_Rodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Property: AD Place Venice
Address: Fondamenta de la Fenice San Marco 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing