We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful flat, stunning location and lovely...”

Review of Alba D'Oro

panoramic view from the living room of the Alba d'Oro on the Grand Canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
panoramic view from the living room of the Alba d'Oro on the Grand Canal
bright and spacious living room with stunning Grand Canal view an elegant environment with antique wooden beams and massive floor-boards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
panoramic view from the living room of the Alba d'Oro on the Grand Canal
bright and spacious living room with stunning Grand Canal view
an elegant environment with antique wooden beams and massive floor-boards
view from the living room on the Grand Canal and the Rialto Market
view from the living room on the Grand Canal
you can enjoy your privacy while looking out the Venetian life flowing on the Grand Canal
the living room is equipped with a double sofa bed
the Alba d'Oro is equipped with Wi-Fi, Satellite TV, DVD, books and guides about Venice and much more
the dining table can be extended for up to 6 people
the Alba d'Oro is part of an historic building as you can see from the antique stone portals and bricks
well equipped kitchen perfect for cooking the delicious Rialto market seafood and groceries
well equipped kitchen perfect for cooking the delicious Rialto market seafood and groceries
from the kitchen you can access the bedroom and the bathroom
spacious double bedroom with king size mattress
enjoy your breakfast at home at the Alba d'Oro apartment!
enjoy your breakfast at home at the Alba d'Oro apartment!
double bedroom with plenty of closet space  and drawers
the apartment has been equipped with comfortable and sober furnishing
spacious bathroom with large shower cabin
an apartment with a truly exclusive Grand Canal view!
Cà d'Oro: the most beautiful Palazzo on the Grand Canal, just in front of you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jb5753
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Beautiful flat, stunning location and lovely people”
Reviewed January 1, 2019 for a stay in November 2018

Alba d'Oro is in the most extraordinary position, on the edge of the Grand Canal with a view of the glorious façade of Ca d'Oro straight ahead, and the fish market to the right. Constant delight to watch the light change on the water and the buildings throughout the day. Extremely easy to access, the waterbus stop of Rialto Mercato is only a five minute walk. The flat itself is beautifully decorated, well-equipped, warm and comfortable. Any questions or problems we had during our stay were dealt with quickly and efficiently by Truly Venice's local team. Absolutely excellent and highly recommendable.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithjl
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!”
Reviewed October 15, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Clean, spacious, nicely appointed and decorated. Private and quiet with an amazing view! Directly acrosss from Ca’ Doro and Ca’Sagredo. Two spectacular palazzos on the Grand Canal!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaOnTo...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The best!”
Reviewed June 20, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We loved our home in Venice! Perfect location and amazing view watching Venetian life on the Grand Canal. The apartment was clean, with everything we needed. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blf2016
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT ROMANTIC GETAWAY”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Alba d'Oro is a one-bedroom first floor (one up from the street) flat in a palazzo that also houses the new Hotel L'Orologio on a quiet street on the south side of the Grand Canal 350 feet west of the Rialto Markets. In other words, it is perfectly located for someone wishing to see Venice as a vacation spot for a week or more, rather than on a two-day tour where you rush from sight to sight. The Rialto Bridge is a 3-minute walk, the Doge's Palace and the Piazza are a 12-minute walk, and the neighborhood is relatively quiet and has all the shops and restaurants you need within a 5-minute walk.

The flat itself has been updated, and is completely serviceable. Oh, and the view out the two large living room windows is worth the journey; my wife stand there with our morning coffee or our evening drink (or any other moment of the day) watching the world go by -- and in Venice, it all goes by boat. Deliveries of just everything take place on the dock just outside the windows.

This was our 6th stay in this flat, and we wouldn't go anywhere else. The rooms are spacious; the kitchen has what you need and it works; even the shower is fully enclosed and has all the hot water you need. This flat really is an ideal romantic getaway. oh, and charming -- a mosaic in the entry floor discloses that one renovation was in.....1831. It really is cool.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzybarm...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favourite holiday apartment in the world.”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved watching traffic on the Grand Canal at all times of the day and night, shopping at Rialto Mercato, cooking in the apartment and having drinks in nearby bars. Everything is so spotlessly clean and staying for 10 days meant that we had cleaning and a full linen change half-way through. This was our second stay in three years at Alba D'Oro and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on future visits to Venice.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blf2016
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Venetian Get-Away”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Truly Venice's Alba d'Oro one-bedroom apartment really is the perfect place for a couple wishing a romantic sojourn in Venice. The apartment itself is comfortable; the living room furniture is lovely for reading and also taking naps; the dining room table seats 6 (or two looking directly out the windows at the Ca d'Oro across the Grand Canal); we used the kitchen to cook breakfasts, lunches and even a gourmet dinner (all ingredients were bought at the Rialto Markets, which are ~ 100 yards away, across a bridge over a tiny canal). The bedroom has adequate storage and a comfortable queen bed, and the bathroom works just fine (complete with a new stall shower). There is a washing machine, dishwasher, all the appliances and kitchenware you need. Oh, and a mosaic in the floor showing that the palazzo was remodelled in 1851. Really cool.

But the location is really the kicker. You get a great front-seat view of the Grand Canal; down one flight of stairs is Calle dei Boteri -- a relatively quiet commercial street where there are restaurants and shops; you're very close not only to the Rialto Markets but also to the shopping area adjacent to the markets; and the "more authentic" San Polo neighborhood is right there. The Rialto Bridge is maybe 4 minutes away, maybe less, and in 10 minutes you're in St. Mark's Square. And there is a dock right outside the apartment where you can arrive from the airport by water taxi (or you can use the Rialto Market Vaporetto stop, 200 yards away, or the Rialto Alilaguna/Vaporetto stop just across the Rialto Bridge).

The apartment is in the same palazzo as the Hotel L'Orologio, so you have a great place to get a drink or fancy breakfast within 100 feet of your door. Friends came to visit us and stayed there.

In sum, Alba d'Oro is a lovely place to park yourself in a fantastic location with a perfect view, quiet but close to everything. We return for 2 weeks every year, and just reserved it for next year.

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamIlGatt...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but needs updating to justify cost”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent twelve days here. The views from the sitting room window on the Grand Canal were spectacular in perfect hot weather. The situation next to the Rialto market was ideal for food shopping and communications. The apartment was spacious but the furnishings and electrical equipment (IKEA?) were showing signs of age. The bathroom was OK but the hot water delivery system (a boiler in the kitchen) which sent only a trickle of hot water to the shower made it very difficult to adjust the temperature. The air conditioning in the sitting room was excellent but in the bedroom less so and we didn't use it. We tried to sleep with the windows open but it was too noisey, the hard surfaces in Venice seem to magnify sound, so it got a little stuffy. Unfortunately quite soon after our arrival, the front door became difficult/impossible to open and when we reported it, the rep didn't want to believe we were having difficulties. We had almost to force him to get it repaired, a new door hinge, and that caused some stress for a while. Otherwise the admin (check-in, water taxis) were good. Overall, this should be a wonderful apartment but it was let down by the condition of the interiors which did not justify the price but we did have a fantastic time.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing views
Liked least: Tiredness of equipment esp the shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing