We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Surprise!”
Review of Dimora Marciana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dimora Marciana
Ranked #10 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we booked this hotel we weren't quite sure about it. We had personal or other credible recommendations on everywhere else we were going to be staying on our European trip. But, when it came to Venice we had a problem finding any availability at all, so we had to make our own best judgment. Things worked out great. This hotel is in a super convenient location. You can literally be to Piazza San Marco in a couple of minutes, and the water bus stop is only a few more minutes away. There are plenty of places to shop or eat close by. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was not elaborate, but we had the best croissants we had on our entire trip right here! There was no view from the room, but the quiet nights made up for this. This hotel is located on a a narrow little street (I would call it an alley), which can be hard to find, but the map the hotel furnished made it fairly easy. This place is not cheap, but compared to others we had researched online, we feel like we got very good value for our money. We only had one complaint that kept us from giving this a 5 rating - when we arrived, no one answered the door bell for over 15 minutes. We never did find out exactly why, but this small inconvenience was far overshadowed by all the positives about this place. We wish we could give a 4-1/2 star rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and once we found the small inn we realized what a good location we had lucked into! The hotel is nice but I personally think a little ornate. Everything was clean and very tidy. Breakfast was additional if we chose not to pay cash but when we booked they told us that it was included?? (Plus there were some additional tax charges not mentioned in our confirmation?) But overall considering other hotels in Venice the Dimora was very good value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I recently spent five nights in the Dimora Marciana. A few blocks off Piazza San Marco, it is on a very quiet side street, and we slept perfectly in their wonderful and comfortable rooms. Since there are only six rooms in this hotel, the attention from the staff is great, the breakfast is very good. I would recommend this to anyone, the prices are very fair and I was there during high season. I give the Dimora Marciana a rating of excellent and will return next time I am in Venice.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website, all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I, and my parents-in-law, stayed here when visiting Venice for the first time. Ignore the silly comment about the absence of a view from the rooms (you'll be out most of the time). The location is great, the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable. We'll definitely stay here again when we next visit Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great Location, Friendly Stuff, Clean and Nice Decorated Rooms! If i go to Venice again, i will definetely stay there again! It is in between Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square which enables you to come to the room for a short rest and continue your visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked the hotel based on its location and Tripadvisor ratings! I wasn't rather pleasantly surprised.

Rooms:
There is not much to see from the rooms. However, to compensate for that, the rooms are splendidly decorated in opulent Venetian style. The rooms were not too big, bordering on adequate. However I understand that most hotels in Venice are a bit cramped for room. The attached bathroom was nice with excellent fittings. The hotel looked like it was newly furnished.

Location:
It may be a bit difficult to locate it first up. However, it is adjacent to the San Marco square located in the centre of Venice. It is also close to the Venice waterbus stops. The Rialto bridge was a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Service:
Service was good! The owners and the managers were really nice, friendly and helpful.

Food:
The breakfast menu was the usual fare with cereals, breads and cold cuts. It was ok!

Overall a nice family hotel located in the centre of the city! Lots of restaurants quite close to the hotel, therefore food was never an issue. Research the location of the hotel before travelling, so that there is no issue in identifying the particular lane in which it is located. Locals may not know of the specific address.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubhsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed in Dimora Marciana early March for 4 nights and I must say we were absolutely impressed with this little typically venetian hotel, located near Piazza San Marco. The rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished, with a vintage touch that gives them personality and uniqueness. Cleanliness inside the hotel is up to standard. Hotel staff is one of the friendliest and most helpful we've met, always smiling and anticipating our needs and requests. We had an amazing stay and we will definitely come here again. I would also mention it is a great value for money and I would warmly recommend it to anyone looking for a perfect stay as far as price, location and comfort is concerned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,879 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 385 in Venice
2,041 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimora Marciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimora Marciana

Address: Calle de le Piere Vive | Bognolo 1604, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $136 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimora Marciana 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an ancient Venetian palace in the Venice historic centre, Dimora Marciana is a guest house just 50 metres away from St. Mark's Square and at a 5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge. Just like Venice's most prestigious historic houses, Dimora Marciana features traditional Venetian style furnishings. Elegant and sophisticated environments, precious damask silk tapestry, classic decorative elements, golden stucco works and original marbles will take you back in time, making you experience the suggestive atmosphere of the prestigious Most Serene Republic of Venice: while you will unwind surrounded by the decorated walls of your room, comfortably sitting in the sophisticated drawing room for breakfast or overlooking Venice's heart from our wide windows. An abundant continental breakfast and the typical services of a 3-star Venice hotel will turn your stay at Dimora Marciana into a special experience, living the dream of old-time Venice without foregoing comfort and quality facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dimora Marciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Marciana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing