We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The personal balcony overhanging the Grand Canal...”

Review of Dogaressa

Dogaressa: a luxury apartment on Grand Canal, Venice
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dogaressa: a luxury apartment on Grand Canal, Venice
the water taxi will take you directly to the Palace water front on the Grand Canal from the water front through th entrance hall of the Palace to the Dogaressa apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Dogaressa: a luxury apartment on Grand Canal, Venice
the water taxi will take you directly to the Palace water front on the Grand Canal
from the water front through th entrance hall of the Palace to the Dogaressa apartment
from the water front through th entrance hall of the Palace to the Dogaressa apartment
entrance room of the Dogaressa apartment
the stunning view can be appreciated also from inside the apartment
the Private Terrace on the Grand Canal is absolutely stunning!
the Private Terrace on the Grand Canal is absolutely stunning!
the Private Terrace on the Grand Canal is absolutely stunning!
elegant and spacious living room of the Dogaressa apartment
elegant and spacious living room of the Dogaressa apartment
elegant and spacious living room of the Dogaressa apartment
elegant and spacious living room of the Dogaressa apartment
prestigious dining room
prestigious dining room
the elegant corridor that gives access to the lovely private courtyard
Master bedroom with Grand Canal view and en-suite bathroom
Master bedroom with Grand Canal view and en-suite bathroom
Master bedroom with Grand Canal view and en-suite bathroom
Master bedroom with Grand Canal view and en-suite bathroom
bathroom of the master bedroom
bathroom of the master bedroom
also the details follow the exclusive concept of the Dogaressa
second bedroom
second bedroom facing the private courtyard
second bedroom facing the private courtyard
second bathroom
second bathroom
third bedroom facing the courtyard at the end of the corridor
third bedroom facing the courtyard at the end of the corridor
third bathroom
third bathroom
fouth bedroom - twin or double - with en-suite bathroom
fouth bedroom - twin or double - with en-suite bathroom
fourth bathroom
kitchen
kitchen
lovely internal court
spacious private internal court
spacious private internal court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
AndreaOre...
USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold apartment in the winter”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this apartment for five days at the end of December. Great location, One Canalview bedroom but we were not allowed to control the thermostat and it would automatically shut off at night and freeze us all so bad we couldn't sleep. Our bedroom got down to 54 degrees, 14 Celsius. We all went to bed fully clothed wearing stocking hats and scarves. When I called the agency to ask if we could please have the heater on during the night, they said no because it was the Venetian way to turn the heaters off at night. This is true however, being a tourist and paying $1000 night this is not acceptable.

There is a beautiful foyer where the water taxi drops you off. Each time we went out there to enjoy the view or take pictures The neighbor would come out and tell us we were not allowed to be out there.

The apartment does have an excellent location, but is just important to know what you will get if you rent in the wintertime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Thank you for choosing Truly Venice and taking the time to share your much valued feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful design of the Dogaressa property and the breath-taking view. This unique estate tends to charm our guests and we are happy to hear it did the same for you. We do appreciate your comments regarding the temperature of the apartment during your stay. We will work to negotiate a new heating system program with the proprietor. Here at Truly Venice, the comfort and satisfaction of our guests are important to us. With your constructive comments we are better able to ensure a Truly wonderful experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy W
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The personal balcony overhanging the Grand Canal makes this better than you can imagine”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I cannot say enough good things about the Dogaressa Apartment. It is on the GrandCanal with a private first floor balcony over the canal with seating for 6 + directly across from the Santa Maria della Salute. This is an end-of-the-day wine and cheese party location that beats anything else you will find in Venice. Truly Venice, the property manager, arranged a water taxi from the airport directly to our private dock - what an amazing way to arrive in Venice and your home away from home.
We had 7 in our party (3 couples and a single), which worked out well as all bedrooms had their own bath. The living room is large with great views; the dining room is excellent and the kitchen is well equipped. The location is 5 minutes to St. Mark's Square with lots of other attractions in the area nearby. It is a short walk to the Giglio vaporetto stop (be sure to buy a multi-day pass which lets you get on and off as much as you like).Hannah, the onsite manager for Truly Venice, was wonderful and spent as much time as we needed to get introduced to the apartment, the area and even helped with a couple of restaurant recommendations. Everything you see on the Truly Venice website concerning the Dogaressa is factual and accurate. We began our visit in mid-October, which was cool a couple of days. To fully enjoy the Dogaressa and it's balcony I'd come in late September. I booked it as soon as I saw it - 1 year in advance. You will love it. Do not pass up this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor balcony overlooking the canal
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbeti
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Although this apartment seems expensive it is worth every penny. At the entrance to The Grand Canal with a small terrace onto the water, we were entertained every day by singing Gondoliers. Although there is an inner courtyard we couldn't keep away from the terrace. The apartment is huge-there is a long walk if you've forgotten anything from the far bedroom. It has
charm, is furnished with lots of really interesting things and pictures and the kitchen has everything you could want or need. It was also very cool inside when the temperatures outside hit 30c. We were there with grown-up children and a 10 month old Granddaughter and we looked forward to going back every day after walking all round Venice. St Mark's Square was 5 minutes away but I would recommend that you visit early in the morning before all the hoards of tourists arrive. We liked Guidecca, across the Canal best and the area around the old jewish quarter. We had such a good time that if/when we return, and if we could still afford it, I would stay here again. It was a perfect stay in Venice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicRi...
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Vila Dogaressa is well placed, a beautiful apartment and well worth five stars. Sitting, drinking coffee in the morning looking over the Grand Canal was wonderful. Very conveneient for St Marks and all the other sites.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrk2016
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just had the most amazing stay. Quite simply this is the best location in Venice. Stunning apartment with stunning views. You can just sit and watch the life on the canal or wander the fascinating streets. This apartment is very close to St Marks Square but in truth, everywhere in Venice is closer than you think. The Truly Venice team are excellent to deal with, but it was Hannah who met us on our arrival, that made our stay truly perfect. She was so friendly, thoughtful and welcoming, she spent time with us making sure we had all the information to make the most of our stay, giving us advice and suggestions which were excellent. It is very rare to meet such professionalism and it made our stay absolutely perfect. Thank you Hannah. With service like this, which ever apartment you stay in through Truly Venice, you won't be disappointed. We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service from Truly Venice
Liked least: Having to go back to reality!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azarmeen...
Redwood City, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The pictures of this apartment cannot do it justice. Not because it is more luxurious than shown but because there is a magical quality to staying in this graceful palazzo that offers one of the most enchanting views of Venice. The apartment is LARGE. We were five but you can easily accommodate 10 without anyone being underfoot. We loved the quirks that come from it being a converted building (remember the bottom floor of palazzos were meant for storage of merchandise) and appreciated them for what they are; there are long hallways that never end and tiny corridors that lead from one bedroom to the next. There are two outdoor areas; the balcony facing Santa Maria del Salute and a large patio (with table) within the grounds of the palazzo. If you stay at this place it will finagle its way into your heart. Moreover, if you can stay here- you must. Daniela and her team are AMAZING- I have rented through out Europe and their customer service, promptness and professionalism are unmatched.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and location
Liked least: heating didn't work great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzmauri...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Venice”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is the ground floor of a palazzo on the Grande Canale opposite Santa Maria della Salute. The palazzo was visited by, among others, Henry James, Robert Browning and John Singer Sargent around the end of the 19th century. The apartment is spacious, luxurious and magnificently furnished. It is fully equipped, and has four double bedrooms, all en-suite. Plenty of towels, etc. it has a terrace on the canal with spectacular views, and it is minutes away from San Marco, and shops and a supermarket not far away. There is also a private garden from the apartment. The main bedroom has a stylish 'gentleman's' dressing room, the only criticism is although this bedroom has a magnificent bath, it lacks a proper shower, and the basin leaks a bit. However, these are minor details. The apartment is so large that on occasion the free Wi-Fi could not reach the bedroom at the far end! Truly Venice, the letting agents, are extremely helpful, ordering water taxis etc., and available by telephone locally to sort out any problems. We were a party of six, and thoroughly enjoyed the stylish surroundings, sitting on the canal terrace drinking Prosecco watching the historical regatta was a highlight. We were all reluctant to leave, and will certainly book through Truly Venice again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace on the canal.
Liked least: Main bedroom's bathroom.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing