We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Dinner”

Osteria Antico Giardinetto
Ranked #68 of 1,637 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Antico Giardinetto di Virgilio e Larisa is a small, cosy family-run restaurant behind Campo San Cassiano offering typical Venetian and creative fish and meat dishes freshly prepared to order.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Visited this Osteria on our first night in Venice, it was quite close to the flat we rented. Didn't have a reservation, but we showed up right at 18:30 opening and were able to get a table for 2, though parties arriving later without a reservation were turned away. Setting was cozy, food was delicious, especially the Crudi (raw fish appetizer) and the Scallop Tagliolini. Wonderful service, charming, off the beaten path, a gem in San Polo. Would absolutely return

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Quest564760
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2016

Started off with the Mixed Seafood Sampler (Venetian Style). Foe our main dish we ordered the Vermicelli with Cuttle Fish Ink Sauce over Polenta and Tuscan Roast Lamb Chops. Everything was delicious.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank calebrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

The food was excellent and the service was the best we've experienced in Venice so far. We'll definitely come back to try out more of the dishes!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank BowY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We were staying in Venice for a week and did some research on a local restaurant near our apartment. What a find this was. (Note: not easy to actually find as its tucked away down a small lane) Perfect example of a family run Osteria. I had the fish platter selection and it was superb. Highly recommend that if you are in this area you give this a try. We managed to get a table by just popping in but I think that was a bit lucky. Suggest you book.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tallkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

We only discovered this fabulous authentic restaurant, new the Rialto Bridge, on our last night but it was a perfect way to remember the great hospitality wonderful simple food and excellent service and welcome. home made past dishes with fresh sea food were excellent as was the vino de la cassia. Highly recommended. Making a reservation is good especially at weekends.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 14MikeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Antico Giardinetto also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Antico Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.