We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Antico Giardinetto

Osteria Antico Giardinetto
Ranked #18 of 1,363 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Osteria Antico Giardinetto is a cosy, charming family-run restaurant near Campo San Cassiano offering typical Venetian and creative fish, meat and vegetarian dishes freshly prepared to order.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This husband, wife team made our night! Excellent food, we shared seafood mixed appetizer , those sardines were soooo good! Then shared the seafood risotto, satisfying and delicious! We shared grappa with a beautiful young couple from Milan, celebrating their anniversary! Loved our evening, this was a special dinner in Venice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LNarvaezMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    252
    71
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This restaurant really delivers! The food is really fresh and tasty. We came to dine here 2 consecutive nights. The deep fried mixed seafood is really yummy with vegetable fritters included (esp the zucchini flower) The lamb chops is good too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and fresh seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Finding this place was a bit of an adventure. It is located on a tiny side street. Proceed with confidence. We had the best Sardines and cod appetizer. The fried fish entre for 2 was delicious but a bit too heavy for me. The chocolate mouse was heavenly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Napuri
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Late Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped here for a late dinner after a very long hot day of walking around Venice and taking a nap in the A/C in the hotel room. This restaurant was located close to our hotel, making it a natural stop for worn out tourists. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, at least in the garden.
The food was excellent and the restaurant was clean and the service was very good. They were beginning to close up towards the end of our meal.
My son's sardine dinner was exceptional as was the caprese, melon with prosciutto and the fried calamari. Actually, we thought the calamari was exceptional. The pasta dish and my wife's fish dish were just average, but enjoyable.
We thought the prices were a little on the high side, but that is pretty typical in Venice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nach09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Went last night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Cosy little restaurant with great food, the mussels and clams were to die for. Not cheap 2 starters, 2 mains and a sweet inc a litre of house white and water 110 euros. However the food and service were excellent

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drg468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Antico Giardinetto also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Antico Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing