We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!”
Review of La Colomba

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Colomba
Ranked #1,043 of 1,460 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Overpriced! Unsigned pictures on the walls (can be anybody’s). Does not worth to waist your time in Venice. Food taste was less than average. Finally they added 6 Euros per person to the huge bill. When asked what is a charge for answer was - You used Tablecloth and napkins in our 'restaurant'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Al V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for La Colomba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We came in Venice from the Holland America Line cruise and stayed there for 5 days. We visit La Colomba onnly 29th of July. It was nearly 12 o'clock in the morning. We were family of 4 people. After 5-7 minutes of waiting the waiter came to us (only one table was occupied, so he wasn't very busy) and take the order. We ordered 1 double espresso, 1 cappuccino, 1 americano and 1 latte for me. While we have been waiting other people from the street came to the cafe. After the 10 minutes of waiting he brought just a glass of milk and go away. Then after 5 minutes he brought espresso and poured in the glass of milk. I was surprised., because he was very slow. Then he brought 1 double espresso and 2 cappuccino. (He forgot about americano).

One man sitting near us told the waiter that he is waititng for irish coffe for 15 minutes. The waiter (!) started shouting and told the visitor that he is the only one waiter, that everybody need to respect him and asked a man to go away. Then he had told that 3 man working on his stupid irish coffe and went in the buillding.

Everybody was shocked. We payed 20 euros (quite expensive for 4 cups and waiting) and went away. The service was slow and unfriendly. The waiter was slow and thoung "he is the king". Don't go there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank Sasasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMColomba, Direttore at La Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear Sir,
Please verify your comments, we are a restaurant and no a bar and very important we only serve for dinner ................. and so during morning and lunch time we are close !!!
Please modify your comments we aren't the correct place !!!
I hope that for next trip I 'll be our guest for a special dinner !!!
Many thanks
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The first thing we did wrong was have restaurants purchased with our tour. We went on our scheduled night and the restaurant had little to offer other than seafood or quail. We were a party of three and two did not eat seafood. The hostess was very kind and asked the chef if he could make us something. He made us a stuffed zuchinni flower which was good and boxed pasta. However, my husband did enjoy his seafood tasting menu. We were then charged $4.50 per cup of coffee and $5.00 for the bread on the table. Our meal cost us an additional $60 Euros and two of the three ate next to nothing. If you like seafood and would like to sample tastes of Venice, this would probably be a good choice. We each had one drink. Dinner was approximately $70 Euros a person.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank roepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We recently dined in La Colomba while on our honeymoon. Venice was part of a three-day stop off and we were quite taken aback by the price and quality of the food that we encountered during our stay. Having eaten in so many lovely places elsewhere in Italy where we found much better food at much better prices. We ordered the tasting menu in La Columba and it was exquisite, particularly for the price of €50. The restuarant staff were kind and attentive. We had arrived at around 9.30 and were one of the only tables in the resaurant. They did not rush our meal and took great care to explain each course to us. I would definately return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alittleluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stopped in since it was centrally located. Had a nce size group and ordered fixed pris wtih veal and fish. Appetizers were terrible. Canned food and poorly done. Pasta was overcooked. Veal was like eating a shoe, I could do better on the street. Fish was overcooked and finally dessert was too simple. Worst 50 euros we spent in Venice. Too many other decent places. Maybe it was the chef's night out as the service was horrendous as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank biskaduros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMColomba, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Colomba, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Guest I'm the new Sales & marketing manager of the group I'm so sorry for the bad experience ......press to inform you that starting from the 1 of June 2011 we change comlpete the staff of that restaurant and now our Executive Chef is Mr. Lovisa .
Now we try to get the star michelin guide .
I hope that for next trip I 'll be our guest and you'll have a very different tratment.
Many thanks
Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Colomba also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing