We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Natural History Museum
from $8.99
More Info
from $50.54
More Info
from $29.20
More Info
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
486
286
61
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
486
286
61
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stuffed animals interesting exhibits dinosaur bones english audio guide san stae worth a visit on display interesting place guide book couple of hours grand canal taxidermy science species trophy prehistoric whales
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 862 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

Everything was in Italian so we couldn’t actually read about any of the things or history that we were looking at. Didn’t seem to be much structure or order, some rooms had lots of things randomly together , seemed like we whizzed round in minutes.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jake_GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

A great break from the heat was how we came upon our visit but it was a lot better than expected with great exhibits and fairly priced. The staff however are so miserable! We actually found it quite amusing in the end. With examples of how animals walk on the floor and us playfully 'becoming' the animals, we were told not to - staff in London would have joined us! Watched liked hawks the whole way round and scowled at for smiling, let alone have the audacity to laugh! Shame as others may have been sensitive to this and let it ruin their visit - we're pretty thick skinned though so did become quite entertaining.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank bailey936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

We were not sure what to expect but we have passed by the museum on the canal so many times we had to stop in. It was a little hard to find The entrance. The displays are very well done and the museum is largely updated and modern. The paleontology specimens were great as were the rooms about how animals move. They also had an old style cabinet of curiosities room. Overall we definitely did not miss out by not being able to read Italian. Having said that knowledge of science makes understanding the exhibits easier.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank LSQRD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

Very good to be visited once. If you don't speak Italian, ask for a guide, otherwise will be difficult to understand much things (most inside is written on Italian).

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank svetlyo_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Luckily I read Trip Advisor before going as I knew to ask for the English audio guide at reception, it is not offered to you even though its obvious you speak English. Without the guide you will see some nice things but all the written text is in Italian.

With the audio guide I would say this is a really interesting place and well worth a visit. Lots of educational information. I will put a disclaimer on the room that celebrates the trophy hunter Count Giuseppe Dei Relai, it is a room full of stuffed dead animals that he killed with tasteless photos of him next to the corpse with his gun.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank jamie5587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews