We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego
Ranked #45 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Antico Portego was the nicest room we stayed in on our entire honeymoon. The room was HUGE and we were able to really enjoy the city because of the location. The owners daughter (Georgia I think?) was incredibly kind! She helped us and gave us lots of great reccomendations. We absolutely fell in love with Venice and would definitely return to Antico Portego.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A piece of fairy tale . Beautiful , clean , welcoming and charming . The owners are extremely nice . They even offered to share their food with us while they were throwing a dinner in their garden .
Rooms are huge ! perfect views and peaceful . Absolutely recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABIR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Fantastic B&B. Every room we saw was amazing, beautifully decorated and restored. The atmosphere was peaceful and quiet, a contrast to the busy streets outside. Breakfast choices were good and service always with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkuraLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

just spent 5 days in venice in a poorly and old hotel ( if you can call it so). While strolling across venice, we came across this b&b and the owner was kind enough to show us around. Compared to the hotel we where staying, I thought it Antico Portego would cost a fortune,,,,but to our disbelief it costed less!!!! The place is immaculate and perfectly kept. Well done to its owner. If you wnat to experience an unforgettable (positive) experience while in Venice, stay at the antico portego.

Sylvana Camilleri
Malta.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sylvana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Antico Portego and it was the most fantastic place you could ever wish to stay if you want to experience the traditional Venice away from all the tourist hot spots.
As soon as you walk through the "big red door" you are walking away from the hustle and bustle of Venice and being transported back to the traditional, tranquil and refind splendour of a Venice in years gone by.
The owners of the Antico Portego couldn't have done enough for us. The location is close enough from the heart of Venice life but far anough way that within a 10 minute walk you could escape and have a quiet drink and meal and watch the world go by.
If you want to go to Venice and have a lifetime of memories at a very reasonable price then you must go here!
Thank you all at the Antico Portego!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
482 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent two days at this B&B with my husband and a couple of friends.

Location: lively area with shops and restaurants nearby but also quiet during the night. Easy to find, about 15 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco, 2 minutes walking from a vaporetto stop.

Building/rooms: we stayed on the ground floor of the old building and our friends in a new room in the new part of the hotel. Both rooms were very spacious, well furnished and decorated.

Customer Service: very friendly. We were even presented with a little souvenir. There was candy and water available in the room free of charge. However no internet and they do not take cards!

Breakfast: only available from 8am to 9am - not ideal given that people go to Venice for holidays. However the worst was that the breakfast was comprised mostly of packaged items: even the bread! For people who eat savoury things there was very limited choice in the form of two types of processed cheese! I was very disappointed, particularly given that there was a bakery very close to the hotel. Given that we paid €120 per night I expected to breakfast on fresh bread and cheese/ham. I even asked for a fried egg but this could not be arranged!

Overall impression: too expensive for what it is, even for Venice!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as it faced the internal courtyard. However we could hear the guests upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

You would never guess what a palace is behind that red door! This place is absolutely beautiful! I cannot even imagine the work that went into renovating this bed and breakfast. The accommodations are great and the service is wonderful! The breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had. The rooms are huge, clean, and very comfortable. We like the location because it is away form the crowds and still has places to shop and eat nearby. We could even walk to it from the train station. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieS116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
La Palazzina Veneziana
La Palazzina Veneziana
#54 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#19 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#12 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Aquavenice
Aquavenice
#31 of 462 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 462 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#16 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Property: Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego
Address: Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed & breakfast is situated in a typical 16th century palace with two internal courts. The whole house is furnished with ancient family's pieces and each rooms has a private bathroom. At the ground- floor there is the "candles suite". At first-floor there are the "yellow room" and the "traders suite" When you are back tired after an interesting day of sightseeing you can rest near the well or under the ancient portico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing