We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego
Nearby Hotels
$358
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$284
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$264
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$406
$259
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$232
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$255
$203
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$280
$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$937
$775
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
157
34
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
34
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspainted ceilingvenetian homewhirlpool bathtrain stationstayed one nightminute walkrooms are largeupon checkother guestsbars and restaurantsstay in veniceperfect staycontinental breakfastper nightconvenient locationbeautiful hotelgrand canal
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 200 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Fantastic B&B. Every room we saw was amazing, beautifully decorated and restored. The atmosphere was peaceful and quiet, a contrast to the busy streets outside. Breakfast choices were good and service always with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkuraLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

just spent 5 days in venice in a poorly and old hotel ( if you can call it so). While strolling across venice, we came across this b&b and the owner was kind enough to show us around. Compared to the hotel we where staying, I thought it Antico Portego would cost a fortune,,,,but to our disbelief it costed less!!!! The place is immaculate and perfectly kept. Well done to its owner. If you wnat to experience an unforgettable (positive) experience while in Venice, stay at the antico portego.

Sylvana Camilleri
Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sylvana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Antico Portego and it was the most fantastic place you could ever wish to stay if you want to experience the traditional Venice away from all the tourist hot spots.
As soon as you walk through the "big red door" you are walking away from the hustle and bustle of Venice and being transported back to the traditional, tranquil and refind splendour of a Venice in years gone by.
The owners of the Antico Portego couldn't have done enough for us. The location is close enough from the heart of Venice life but far anough way that within a 10 minute walk you could escape and have a quiet drink and meal and watch the world go by.
If you want to go to Venice and have a lifetime of memories at a very reasonable price then you must go here!
Thank you all at the Antico Portego!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent two days at this B&B with my husband and a couple of friends.

Location: lively area with shops and restaurants nearby but also quiet during the night. Easy to find, about 15 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco, 2 minutes walking from a vaporetto stop.

Building/rooms: we stayed on the ground floor of the old building and our friends in a new room in the new part of the hotel. Both rooms were very spacious, well furnished and decorated.

Customer Service: very friendly. We were even presented with a little souvenir. There was candy and water available in the room free of charge. However no internet and they do not take cards!

Breakfast: only available from 8am to 9am - not ideal given that people go to Venice for holidays. However the worst was that the breakfast was comprised mostly of packaged items: even the bread! For people who eat savoury things there was very limited choice in the form of two types of processed cheese! I was very disappointed, particularly given that there was a bakery very close to the hotel. Given that we paid €120 per night I expected to breakfast on fresh bread and cheese/ham. I even asked for a fried egg but this could not be arranged!

Overall impression: too expensive for what it is, even for Venice!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as it faced the internal courtyard. However we could hear the guests upstairs. I think a room in the new area of the hotel is more comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

You would never guess what a palace is behind that red door! This place is absolutely beautiful! I cannot even imagine the work that went into renovating this bed and breakfast. The accommodations are great and the service is wonderful! The breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had. The rooms are huge, clean, and very comfortable. We like the location because it is away form the crowds and still has places to shop and eat nearby. We could even walk to it from the train station. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieS116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews