We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Venice. Couldn't have wished for better - Brilliant.”
Review of Al Canal Regio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Canal Regio
Ranked #303 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booked this a few months in advance as it was reasonably priced. Wasn't sure what to expect as this was not the most expensive place to stay in Venice but was very pleasantly surprised when we did arrive.
Seen some reviews on here saying its difficult to find, well, its only difficult to find if you are stupid and don't plan your route before you leave. If you can get to Strada Nuova from Ca D'Oro then this is the easiest place to find. The Hotel instructions are clear and if followed you can't go wrong. It was nearly dark when we arrived and I found it without taking one wrong turn. Incidentally check out restaurant Vini Da Gigio if you stay here, its not cheap but well worth it. You pass it on the way to the hotel so theres a clue for those of you who are navigationally challenged. Hotel was spotlessly clean and in very good condition. We got an upgrade to a canal view room without asking and it was fantastic. The staff were very polite and helpful, especially Michel, nothing was too much trouble. We had amazing weather for March when we stayed and the whole experience of Venice and staying at this hotel was brilliant. There is a supermarket just around the corner and the water bus stop at Ca D'oro is less than 3 mins walk from Hotel, you can walk to Rialto Bridge in 10 minutes too, or take the water bus. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again if I return to Venice.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a canal view it adds to the experience. The hotel is in a very quiet area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 497 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay in Venice. The rate quality/price of this hotel is very high. It is a bit difficult to find but once you find it you will be fully satisfied. The rooms are spacious and all of them have a view to a canal. There are only two things I would recommend the owner to change: the hight of the showers and the access to internet. Everything else is just perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank adventuresmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I hopped over to Venice for a quick visit and had a hard time finding a hotel because of pre-carnivale. We used Orbitz.com to find this place, made the reservation, and showed up at the hotel about 10 minutes after reserving. The front desk staff (Marco) was very friendly and helpful. The outside of the hotel isn't much to look at, but the inside is perfect! Marco took us through the lobby and showed us to our room. The smell of freshness greeted us as he opened our room door. The room decor was very European modern and the view of the canal from our floor to ceiling windows was wonderful. Throughout our stay Marco was very accommodating. This is a good place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GoSeeDoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Room smelt as if the cleaner had emptied 20 cans of bathroom spray. Not sure if it was covering up something or what. Took 3 days to get the smell out. Other than that good location 20mins walk from train station, food places everywhere, quiet back street location. Our room (26) could only get WIFI in the bathroom :( Recommend requesting another room if you require access to save on roaming data charges etc.. Strainge system at night doors lock automatically at 7PM

Room Tip: Room 26 Not good for WIFI, request another if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Booked apartment and was told that the pictures shown were a representation of the accomodation. This is far from the truth. There are 2 pictures of the apartment in amongst many photos of the hotel. This was a poorly finished apartment that smelt damp. Located away from the hotel this apartment is situated down a narrow side street that does not look inviting at all from the outside. Beware when considering this exterior apartment as it is not what you think you are getting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A surprising modern rooms hotel. High ceiling, warm colors, large windows by the river.. we had a great stay in this cute and modern style hotel. The only negative thing about this place is that the reception is not there 24/7 and that the breakfast is a little poor. But otherwise everything was pleasant.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CaroleMassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I may have just been lucky but my room was very good. modern interior, view on the canal (ground floor), attention to details, very clean. Pleasantly surprised.
The hotel itself is tucked away a few streets off Strada Nuova, so very quiet but also very convenient.

Room Tip: ask what kind of room you are getting for the price you are paying. They are all bespoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpdemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#346 of 385 in Venice
590 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#242 of 385 in Venice
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Tintoretto
Hotel Tintoretto
#225 of 385 in Venice
420 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#253 of 385 in Venice
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Canal Regio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Canal Regio

Address: Cannaregio, 3632/A, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $32 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Canal Regio 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Canal Regio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Canal Regio Venice
Al Canal Regio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing