We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Mamo

Da Mamo
Reserve with
Da Mamo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: This cozy little restaurant in the heart of Venice right near Rialto Bridge is a must if you want good food at reasonable prices, a great ambiance, and the opportunity to see people from all over the world.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent an evening at Da Mamo on the eve of our engagement! I was very impressed with the food and service provided and would definitely recommend to others! 3 courses plus 2 drinks each came to €75. Expect to pay this on average in Venice so thought it was pretty good! The main of Ravioli with cheese and herbs in a saffron sauce was great. Have the home made tiramisu as you get a generous portion and its good quality. The staff were always on hand to ask if we would like drinks and made us feel at home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete3lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,463
    914
    275
    77
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely intimate restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

we were recommended this place by the hotel we were staying at, and I was not disappointed! it was good, high quality food, fantastic service, and i left completely stuffed!
its small and popular, so a reservation is a must! many people had to be turned away while we ate, which is a shame for the restaurant, but proof is in the pudding! they have every reason to be fully booked!
for the quality of food and service, I was pleased with the price also! under 100euro for my self and my husband, with wine, entree, starter and main, we were too full for desert :)

if i were to visit Venice again, i will definitely return to Da Mamo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrswilson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but not Fantastic!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Since Da Mamo rates so high in Tripadvisor, it was the restaurant that I was most excited to visit among the few restaurants in Venice I've made reservation. Furthermore, reservations are only at 7pm or 9pm, two rounds every night & always fulled booked!!

Maybe my expectation was too high?? Or?? Did I order the wrong food??

We ordered for 3 pax:
1) Browned King Prawns in a Orange & Honey sauce with sauteed vegetable - Very Good!
2) The Big Mix of Fried Scampis & Squids & Vegetable - Very Good & fresh!!
3) Linguini with Scampi - Soggy prawns & bland (where's my salt shaker??)
4) Beef fillet in a Raboso Wine & Black Grape Sauce with Small Potato Pie - Okay steak but strange tasty sauce I must say & again where's my salt shaker??
5) Thinly Sliced Beef Steak with Salad Balsamic Vinegar - beef was tough & again, where's my salt shaker?? I had a hard time biting and swallowing the beef!!

With a bottle of still water & a glass of house red, we paid about €100!! Price is a little on the high side but if everything tasted awesome, I wouldn't have complained! I paid less the night before at another restaurant & the food was amazing (no salt shaker needed)!!

With all the hype, I expected better so I was disappointed thus the 3 Stars Rating! My recommendation - look elsewhere!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faithbaby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable for all the right reasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited this restaurant a couple of days ago whilst in Venice for a long weekend. It was the first restaurant we tried that had not previously been recommended by a friend that lives in Venice, so we weren't sure what to expect. However, it soon became clear that the food was going to hit the mark. Having ordered our starters and mains, we were given an appetizer on the house, which was a lovely start. I then shared a starter of scallops with my mum, whilst my partner and dad tried the bruschetta and antipasti. Starters were all delicious, and a shared scallop dish was plenty between two. I then had a sizeable Calzone for my main, which was the second best I have ever tried - whilst others in the party tried the fresh seafood platter, seabass and house pizza. None of us could fault the mains - generous portions and lovely flavours. Despite feeling very full by this point, the desserts looked too good to miss- the chocolate fondant with fresh fruit was delicious. Followed by a grappa (for the men) and limoncello and coffee and some complimentary chocolates, this meal was the best we had during our stay.

The service was fantastic - very friendly waiters who built up a great rapport with our table and others in the restaurant. Although dealing with a steady stream of customers, they were attentive and personable.

Altogether very good value - we paid the same the following night for an underwhelming meal elsewhere. Worth booking, as this was the quiet season (January - pre-Carnevale) and extremely busy. Not far from Baccaro Jazz - a local bar which makes a good after dinner venue for a bellini or two.

Overall a fantastic evening! Thanks to the waiters for matching the great food with friendly service. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gems91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

You don't go to Venice for food. Restaurants are often pricey and not great.

Da Mamo was packed when we went and booking is a must. We saw no end of people turned away and it was January when Venice is relatively quiet.

This was the best meal we had in Venice, we had fillet steak which was pricey but perfectly cooked and tender. Service was excellent. I will return if I am in Venice again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mamo also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Da Mamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing