We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but perfectly formed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Mamo

Da Mamo
Reserve with
Da Mamo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: This cozy little restaurant in the heart of Venice right near Rialto Bridge is a must if you want good food at reasonable prices, a great ambiance, and the opportunity to see people from all over the world.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The place was full on a wet Sunday night in January, which says all you need to know!

We had scallops and the sweet and sour scampi and sardines, both of which were very good. For the mains I have the fillet stake with a Raboso wine and black grape sauce which was perfect and the chicken with tomato and cheese. After this we were full however we then saw the deserts coming out of the kitchen and just had to have one.

All in all one of the best meals we have had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Marshallwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,449
    906
    271
    77
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, excellent food and vibrant atmosphere! Loved it best in Venice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We took advice from TA on this and we didn't regret it. We were lucky we arrived early (7pm) and snagged a table for 2, as it was a Friday night! There are only 30 seats in the place. The staff were the best we have experienced in Italy!!! Our meal was worth every cent. 2 mains, 2 house wines, 2 deserts and a coffee for 70€. Our biggest tip would be BOOK as we saw at least 20 people turned away while we were eating!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanLatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Da Mamo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stumbled on da Mamo in Venice on our first night there. It was crowded, but we only had to wait about 10 minutes. It's worth a MUCH longer wait. The atmosphere was cozy, the service was excellent, the house red wine was great, and the food was delicious. It was one of my favorite dinners of our entire Italy trip. I actually wanted to just go back the second night, but my husband thought we should try somewhere new. Bad decision. :) I highly recommend this restaurant.

One very tiny small negative just so people know if this is important to them--the tables are fairly close together. If you like a lot of space, it might not be the absolute best place for you. Still, so good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snapdragon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The quality of this restaurant food and the service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

In april 2012 i had a visit in venice and it was very nice and i have been visited with my family.Actually i have been forgot to write a review about this restaurent becoz i was really busy and i now im thinking to again venice thats why i visited this website.i do apologige for that.when i visited we went this restaurent for our dinner and it was really really nice food and i ordered some fish,king prwan and pasta and finally desert .The one thing i can say is i never had in my life this kind of taste and other thing is the restaurant waiters are very helpful they gave us very very fantastic service and friendly manner specially we met one guy i think his name is IFII who is very good and funny guy and helpful..i really enjoyed with this guy and he gaves us good service ,so thanks "da mamo" team and thanks the owner of the restaurent...thanks everyone..

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant place - you should book in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went here for dinner as we had found on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. This is quite a small place and not many tables and very popular. We booked before we wnt which is a good job as they opened at 7 and within 2 or 3 minutes they were full despite being down a small alley so obviously well known as being good. We had an excellent meal but be warned the portions are not small so think carefully before ordering several courses. One of our selections was parma ham with mozzarella - it was massive. A large plate covered in ham and the biggest most creamy cheese ever tasted. This restaurant is a lovely little place, tables quite close together which is quite nice but if you dont like that it could be a problem. The waiter we had was excellent and very attentive. Price was good for what we had in Venice and would go back straight away if back in Venice. Also see their sister restaurant - Bistrot De Venise if you want a treat and dont mind paying more for a special meal, it was very nice. You can also book in advance by email (advised).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mamo also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Da Mamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing