We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Average to be Fair..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Buso

Al Buso
Ranked #839 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pretty Average to be Fair..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

It's right under Rialto bridge so a good place to watch the boats go by but the food is average.

The menu choice is seafood orientated too. Now I like seafood but I was ready to take on a mighty Venetian pizza (in my mind anyway!) but yup you guessed it, not a pizza base, oven or pizza chef in sight!

So I had a salad- not very rock n roll but even that bad boy cost me 18 big euros!

So look. You're in Venice. Skip this one and either go the other way to those places, or over the bridge. Most eatie (my own devised word!) spots (don't have any but used to as a teenager..) along the Grand Canal are good, but of course a little more pricey. But then they would be, they're on the Grand Canal ya donut!!

If saving cash is your thing (I wish it were mine sometimes..) then head away from the canal and within a few streets either side, you'll be in "happy more like home spendy land!"

But the view will be poo :-)

Que Sara Sara..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeathJSamples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    78
    69
    36
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only go there for the view”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Im afraid our waiter was unfriendly to the point of rudeness. He also insisted the house rules were we had to each order a meal when we wanted to share. Odd considering the empty tables around and the great restaurants in Venice. Felt disappoiinted.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chippsNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Linguine all'astice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our second visit to Al Buso to enjoy their wonderful Linguine all'astice (Linguine with Rock Lobster). Again we were not disappointed. Both the main course, our salads and the house white wine were excellent.

We arrived during a thunder storm and had to take a seat inside. The waiter escorted us to a table by the window which was almost as good as being outside, given the situation. Initially the door was open, but when the rain came in the owner quickly moved to close the door and keep us comfortable.

This may seem to be a typical restaurant of the area with a very tourist-based business, but in fact it has been in the same family since 1947! The owner definitely wishes to please, so anyone whose visit seems not to be going well should feel free to speak up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTravelerReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst place ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Bad food, Worse value for money, and to top it -- WORST SERVICE OF ALL. Our evening was almost ruined by the arrogance and rudeness of the 'waiters' and the terrible food. I would like to be forgiving but it may take a saint to just let go of their disrepesct. But then again, we were foolish to be lured immediately by fake smiles of welcome, so Ill give them one star higher than they actually deserve.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1,503 reviews
962 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Nice location and we arrived early enough to get a good, waterside table, noting that later arrivals seemed to be shoe-horned into tables that suited management, rather than customers - no doubt to have better tables still available to entice in latecomers.

The multi-language, flags too, menu was a turn off, though to be fair it made it easier to choose without asking daft questions.

We chose a fish soup and a country vegetable soup to start with and both were very good, being served piping hot, full of flavour and hearty.

Next up were grilled prawns and a calves liver and onions. This time we received different dishes from those we had Ben expecting. This was a success for the prawns, but the liver was a disappointment, being a collection of overlooked slivers rather than the juicy one-piece whole liver expected. In both cases, the dishes were enhanced by the generous portions for the mixed salads we ordered.

We ended with tast desserts, being strawberries for one and a delicious chocolate Tartuffe for the other.

Service was efficient.

Prices were Venetian in being exorbitant by reference to restaurants in less touristy places.

Nevertheless, taken in the round the place was better than average and just rates a generous Very Good

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Buso also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Buso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing