We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Buso

Al Buso
Ranked #800 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't even think about it!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place proved to be the lowestlight (as opposed to highlight) of a recent trip to Venice. Al Buso formula for cocking up a prawn salad is.........cook (??) prawns till they have achieved hardened bullet consistency, serve alongside limp rocket salad (probably past its sell-by date), chuck in a few bits of tomato and cheese and....bingo!...charge 17.5 Euros. Told them (since they did ask!) that their food was best summed up in four letters beginning with s and ending in t. Paid and left rather than spend all day arguing the toss. Example of Venetian commercial rip-off at its best. Looks like TripA insists that you give a rating - I have, therefore, given it one mark too many.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    78
    69
    36
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

For a couple dinner the location is great, very romantic!
For the price that we payed, we're waiting for a top quality food but unfortunately it wasn't.
For the first course we ate mozzarella with tomatoes and olive oil, but the tomatoes were to mellow... for main course we ate spaghetti with seafood, but it didn't taste very fresh... :(
The waiters were kind of strange, because of the joking atitude non very pleasant with tourists on a mocking way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly grim”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Many years ago, on our very first trip to Venice we ate here often as the restaurant was very near our hotel. Returning to Venice for the fourth time, but the first time with our daughter, we thought we'd indulge in a bit of nostalgia. We wished we hadn't...

OK, the location, hard up against the Rialto bridge is attractive, although, as usual, there are the tourist hordes milling past.

Service was perfunctory, to say the least, but it is clear that the waiters are under pressure to get the punters in and then out again asap to allow the next bunch to take their places.

We were bemused by the number of would-be diners taking their seats and then making a swift exit. This is probably because there are no pizzas to be had, even though they are advertised. The other dishes on the menu are fairly expensive - but this is Venice - so what do you expect? However, the quality was truly dire - my wife and daughter are vegetarians and from the very limited selection of veggie-friendly dishes they chose the vegetable lasagne. Big mistake. It was a glutinous greasy slab of flavourlessness. My fried scampi and calamari was no better and featured the world's smallest prawns - in fact what I thought were large fragments of batter actually turned out to be scampi.

Poor service, poor food, poor value. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailie_Nicol_Jarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best find somewhere else”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, but everything else was disappointing. Tried a pizza, it was awfull. Waiters where eagerly fast so they could hurry us along serve new hords of food ignorants as possible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice location. Friendly waiter who joked around with us”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Contrary to the other reviews we had a great experience here and returned for a second night. Staff were really friendly and made our night. Food was good but primarily the location was great. Our son loved the lasagna. The tuna carpaccio was also good.

Helpful?
Thank Peacheytanya
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Al Buso also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Buso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing