We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GPS challenged...worth it!”
Review of Ai Mercanti

Ai Mercanti
Ranked #103 of 1,637 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Ristorante Ai Mercanti in the heart of Venice between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco is an upmarket, romantic restaurant in very cool style that enjoys a high-flying gastronomic reputation. The vaulted dining room is decorated in sophisticated terracotta and black with impressive shining globe lighting. The bar is wittily decorated with dressmakers’ forms and sexy corsets – great conversation starters. The menu is classically-inspired Venetian of a high order, focusing on things from the sea and changing every two months to take advantage of the and array of the freshest ingredients in true Italian style and pastas and desserts are all made in-house. In warm weather the dining room sprawls out onto the adjoining campiello for the loveliest al fresco dining anywhere – the Venetians who crowd Ai Mercanti certainly think so.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

While only 287 feet from our hotel our GPS was a bit confused. We are so glad we found this gastronomic delight! From the rabbit terrine to the celery and lime risotto(unique and light and fabulous) to the steak kebob(special for the night) our taste buds were very very happy! Totally recommend this gem down an alley. Only took a minute to get back to our hotel!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Dickson0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 395 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016

That is the brilliant restaurant. I've been there again after two years. There was completely new menu, and every dish became for me like a discovery something new and wonderful! Impressive travel of taste! Caramelized onion and creame from onion and cheese are my ever ever best food impression!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank OleksiyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

I've been to Venice not for the first time so I know some places to go, this time I went with my boyfriend and we went to one of my favorite place Ai mercanti, and as usual no any disappointment. Amazing food(my choose is Crispy egg on a foam of potato), nice music and atmosphere and very friendly owners. Highly recommended if you are in Venice. And for sure will come back again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank myronova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We had a dinner outside, in a small courtyard. Really cool modern menu. English speaking stuff. We had pasta with a swordfish - really good!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank innagudz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Very good food. Not so big in size so you can have all four courses. Fairly priced for the quality. Not touristic at all. Close to tourist attractions but more locals than tourists. Only downside was quite slow service.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 959perl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Ai Mercanti also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.