We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stands out from the crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ai Mercanti

Ai Mercanti
Ranked #32 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Ristorante Ai Mercanti in the heart of Venice between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco is an upmarket, romantic restaurant in very cool style that enjoys a high-flying gastronomic reputation. The vaulted dining room is decorated in sophisticated terracotta and black with impressive shining globe lighting. The bar is wittily decorated with dressmakers’ forms and sexy corsets – great conversation starters. The menu is classically-inspired Venetian of a high order, focusing on things from the sea and changing every two months to take advantage of the and array of the freshest ingredients in true Italian style and pastas and desserts are all made in-house. In warm weather the dining room sprawls out onto the adjoining campiello for the loveliest al fresco dining anywhere – the Venetians who crowd Ai Mercanti certainly think so.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stands out from the crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant as it was close to our hotel and had good reviews. It is signposted from the Calle dei Fuseri, however this wasn't promising as the sign looked old and unloved so it was a surprise when we arrived and found a modern smart venue with jazz in the background. The waiters were excellent, knowing their dishes and despite there being only a few diners they were discreet and not overbearing. The food more than matched the decor tempting us both into having desserts which were both triumphs - a frozen beer foam with merengue (better than it sounds) and chocolate interpretations. The wine list was also extensive but best of all the prices were very reasonable. Would go back again in a flash, despite the multitude of choices in the city.

Helpful?
Thank TredsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    233
    72
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top Notch Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sometimes in Venice it is good to eat somewhere that is not a traditional style restaurant so long as the food is good and Ai Mercanti met both criteria. Smart modern with an interesting menu and good service. We shared an antipasta, and a primi then had two mains and with two glasses of white and a bottle of red the bill of 96 Euros which was very reasonable. It would be hard to eat in a place of such quality at home so to be able to do this is Venice is even better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelmadEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cozy trattoria, pretty good service, average nicely presented food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went at midday to reserve for Valentine's dinner, they told us that the restaurant was booked solid for the night. We decided to stay for lunch. There was only another couple. Had the onion, it was ok a little bit simple, the salmon tartar, well presented but lacked seasoning, ok, had the umbrio fish, a white local fish, was ok, came with a few pieces of broccoli and a green sauce, it was a little bit overcooked and low on salt. We had the chocolate interpretations, very good. Service was good, proper waiters, not pushy. What we did not like was that the waiters received 2 telephone calls, 1 in English, another in Italian and they did take the reservation for both. Later on when we got back to our hotel, we called and spoke english and reservations were available for 10pm, which would have been fine for us. We spoke Spanish/Italian in the restaurant, not sure if what they wanted was for us to stay for lunch or the wanted a different profile of a tourist.
Prices are very reasonable for Venice, food is well presented but average, service was very proper and ok.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSI77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadialoc, Proprietario at Ai Mercanti, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank You for visiting us and sharing Your opinion about Ai Mercanti here on TripAdvisor. Though it is a great pity for a wrong opinion You’ve made about our booking process and as a result about us writing that we devide people on “desired” and “not desired” customers! Just to clear the situation, I will explain how our reservation system is working:

Dear Customer,
Your reservation is sign ,we kindly ask You to confirm it by calling us at (041.5238269) the 
same day of your dinner before 5 pm, otherwise we will not cosider it valid.

Thank you very much
Ai Mercanti

This is a standart message which we are sending to everybody, who is booking a table via mail. The restaurant was fully booked for the San Valentines dinner and all our positive answers on a phone calls You heard were just a confirmations (for people who booked beforehead). As far as two reservations were not confirmed (both for 10 P.M.), we were offering those tables to people, who were calling after 5 P.M. to book a table for dinner. One of those persons were probably You.

It is also pity that the situation stressed You so much, that You decided to make a “testing” call after while you could just ask us during the lunch and clear everything immediately. It is even more pity that this missunderstanding happened right on a St. Valentines day.

If You still have any doubts, You can always write us a “testing” mail and check if we trully have a booking system like this J

We wish You a relaxing holiday and a good luck!

Sincerely Ai Mercanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was already in this restaurant few years ago, when I was first time in venice, but recently I traveled there again and decided to check the place one more time. Was very interesting, cause they have changed concept from restaurante to gastrosteria, with what prices became more reasonable, but the service and the food quality were the same perfect! Big thank you, Anna and Simone, you are great people and I wish to come back to your place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giorgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splitska, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Absolutelly fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went here by a reccomendation of our hotel and we are happy with that. Modern and elegant decor of the restaurant as well as the cuisine. We will never forget our merengue dessert made with a frozen foam of a beer! Absolutelly amasing experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igorgaljasevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Mercanti also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing