We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria da Codroma

Osteria da Codroma
Ranked #234 of 1,363 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: Traditional venetian dishes and tapas and excellent winesCicchetti e piatti della tradizione veneziana e ottimi vini
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our meals at this seafood restaurant. Be warned that all the offer is seafood. (Except dessert, which was fish-free). We got a pasta course and a "secondi" with fish fillets and the house wine. Everything tasted great. The only downside was that they had only one waitress serving the whole place. Service was slow and she was hard to flag down, not really her fault though. The atmosphere is casual. Most seating is inside; there was one reserved table outside. Felt like a local experience off the beaten path.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tiarevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    96
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Venetian style food. Reasonably priced. Staff is also great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Codroma is a favorite by the Venetian locals (it was recommended to me by my parents). Their dishes are carefully executed Venetian traditional recipes. Spaghetti al nero di seppia (spaghetti made with black squid ink sauce) are a must. Their "fritto misto" (mixed fried seafood) is also amazing and delicate. This is a real word Venetian restaurant (reasonably priced, not posh interiors). Their staff is also very kind and willing to explain the recipes. Go there with confidence.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlberto041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The best octupus salad I ever had.
No chicky micky. Just a good restaurant for lunch. After I had an espresso and some dolce. I was so lucky finding this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank tomsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food without the fuss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

In summary: an excellent restaurant that focuses on local venetian fare at local prices. They are quite accommodating to their customers and the whole experience felt very authentic. This restaurant is not for you if you are expecting a romantic candlelight dinner with white linen service.

We came here by recommendation from a local who was attempting to help us find another restaurant. Since we had just walked in (at 8 pm) we did not have reservations but the server and chef made a spot for us. Our server was a student at the university who spoke amazing English and provided us with the best service that we had in Venice- she gave great tips and told us that we could split dishes so we could try everything. For starters, we had the sardines and onions as well as the baby octopus. The sardines were perfectly cooked and was eaten very quickly (my husband who is a picky eater even ate some). However, the baby octopus was absolutely delightful being perfectly cooked and dressed in olive oil with a little bit of salt. For primi, we had the Bolognese and the dumplings with mushrooms and veal. Both were delicious but the dumplings really stood out. Perfectly fluffy and light while maintaining a chewy texture. Secondi was the steak with a side of rocket salad; the steak was cooked rare (they do not ask how you like your steak done) and was so flavorful. I was able to cut my entire steak with a butter knife. Finally for dessert, we couldn't decide between the tiramisu or the biscuits so our server gave us both. They were fantastic and a perfect way to end the meal.

What made this meal even better was the company (we sat in the middle of a large family style table) and on both sides were locals we conversed with throughout the entire meal as well as the total bill. Our bill was 56 euros including a carafe of house red, 1 L of water and an aperitif. Truly, this was an experience that cannot be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A culinary delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went to this fine restaurant based on the reviews from trip advisor. It was so good the first night we went we decided to go on another night. The food was perfect. It was friendly. The owners are delightful. It is away from the crazy crowds. This is a fine Venetian restaurant, one that should not be missed. For those who don't speak Italian, the owners speak it very well, especially Anna.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Codroma also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Osteria da Codroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing