We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ai Cugnai

Ai Cugnai
Ranked #141 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

As a chef, we tend to be rather particular about our meals especially when you are travelling. This is a place you must try. Cosy environment and very friendly service. Most of all they speak good english and menus in english too. I tried the fritto seafood, nero pasta and tomato prawn pasta. WELL DONE!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chef_John_Saw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    234
    68
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“haven from the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Ducked in here recently to escape the non stop rain and it turned out to be a real stroke of luck. Food wasnt absolutely stunning but it was very good and the staff were so lovely I would seek it out again. When you think of all the dreadful rip-off places that are disdainful of tourists it really is crucial that we visitors to venice review and praise the places that are refreshingly welcoming and not cynical towards us at all. Ai cugnai is one such venue, give it a go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roseblago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch, full of locals, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stopped off on the way back from the Peggy Guggenheim Gallery. We knew we might be onto something when we discovered the place was full of locals (including the table next to us which filled up with Gondoliers on their lunch break!).

The food was reasonably priced, good quality and freshly prepared. This wasn't the case for all of the places we ate in Venice! The service was very friendly and, overall, this was one of our best eating experiences during our time in Venice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So friendly, so delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were wandering around Venice in the evening and needed a place to stop for a rest and glass of wine. We sat at a sidewalk table (we'd already been told in a different restaurant that we weren't welcome if we weren't eating dinner) and got immediate friendly service. Along with our wine (which was very inexpensive, yet excellent) we were given a complimentary plate of appetizers. The restrooms were spotless and as we walked in we saw other diners with plates of beautifully presented food. Such a nice respite after exploring this amazing city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linILL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good vegetable soup, rest very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Vegetable soup had very good flavor, but our pasta dishes disappointed. The spaghetti with spicy sauce and shrimp had no flavor, totally bland with 3 small shrimp in shell. Nothing objectionable, we would not choose to eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWtraveler424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Cugnai also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Cugnai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing