We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, first class service & wonderful food.”
Review of Pontini

Pontini
Ranked #21 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, first class service & wonderful food.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just left Pontini after having our first real Italian meal in Venice & I can absolutely endorse the numerous other great TripAdvisor reviews of this little place.
It's really easy to find being just 20 yards from, & in sight of, Ponte delle Guglie in Canareggio.
We turned up early (6:15pm) as many of the reviews mentioned Pontini fills up very soon after this time & that was our experience too. There's seating for 24 diners & we were numbers 3 & 4 when we arrived. By the time we left around 7:45 there were only 2 spare seats.
The restaurant seemed to be mainly full of tourists although the small bar area was very busy with Italians all of which gave the place a nice "feel".
Service was very prompt & was accompanied by a beaming smile from the Italian chap that served us. He didn't seem to have any English but even with my non-existent Italian ordering was slick partly because the menu has an English translation.
The food was superb & served in just the right quantity, just enough but not too much to be over facing. Both of us ordered the sardines to start & I can definitely recommend. A real treat with sweet onions & beans to accompany the fish. I then plumped for the homemade lasagne which was great while my partner went for the Salmon Penne which she says was fantastic - it certainly looked the part. We finished off with the Tiramisu for two & it was truly delightful & although I'm no aficionado it was far & away the best I've had. All of this was sent on it's way with a reasonable bottle of Chianti & water & the bill came to 70 euros (without the tip).
All in all a great meal in a nice, friendly place with a touch of the authentic. If we get chance before we fly home we'll be back for seconds at Pontini.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,240
    495
    95
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely food , lovely restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spotted this restaurant on the side of a canal near our hotel. Went on Sunday , but it was closed , but went back the next day and was not disappointed ! Lovely family run restaurant , very friendly atmosphere. Staff very friendly , and although we spoke very little Italian and they spoke very little English ! It did nt matter!! Food was delicious , fantastic authentic Italian food. I had sea food pasta , which was lovely , and only £14 euros , while my parter had the las gagne which was equally lovely. Had homemade tirimasu for desert , which again was delicious.
Everything was lovely about this restaurant and I would recommend anybody to go there. You will not be disappointed , so please go and ensure restaurant and owners like this prosper. The best good we ate all week in Venice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinjwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheered us up after a visit to the Ghetto”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had just visited the old Jewish Ghetto and were feeling somewhat sad about the ancient and modern history of persecution, which was so pungent that you could almost cut it with a knife. So, we walked out of the narrow alley leading in to the Ghetto and decided on the spur of the moment to eat at the Pontini.

We had been warned that tourist food in Venice was really bad, which we had found to be an exaggeration, but after 5 days on a careful budget, we had still not had a really nice italian meal. That changed with the Pontini. Like so many other reviews, we also had really good food, served in a cheerful family environment by a friendly waitress.

We kept it simple and went for spaghetti a la bolognese, which was different from the meal outside Italy, but really tasty. Our neighbors, who were on their umpteenth visit to Venice and regularly eat at the Pontini were having the traditional dish of "black" squid pasta, a Venetian delicacy. The pasta is colored black by squid ink, so I was not tempted, but our neighbors liked it.

This was out last meal in La Serenissima and it closed our holiday perfectly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Photeinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly service and very good food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had an excellent meal at Pontini, which is in the Cannaregio district, near the Guglie bridge. It's a neighbourhood trattoria which does simple, excellent, good value cuisine. Venice seems to have an abundance of overpriced, average restaurants. This one is far from typical. The waiter serving us was incredibly jovial and friendly. We had a couple of pasta dishes, which were excellent and easily big enough for a main despite being listed as 'primi'. The seafood pasta was particularly good. This was our most enjoyable meal in Venice and it was very reasonably priced. Our hotel was about 5 minutes away, which made it particularly handy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a delightful experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The reviews are accurate. This is the best of all restaurants we visited during our 5-day visit to Venice. Here, you are treated like family, because the place is run by a family! Two ladies - helped by an uncle - serve the drinks and food, while 'mama' does the cooking (wonderfully) in the back kitchen, popping out once in a while for a glass of wine. We had two dinners here. The first was a beef lasagna for myself and a seafood pasta for my wife. Both were outstanding. On the second visit we shared a large sampler plate of three salt-cod dishes and sardines in vinegar, adding a mixed salad to round out the meal. The quality of the food is amazing, service is warm and efficient, and prices are reasonable. The only downside is that the restaurant is extremely popular with locals, so fills up quickly. We went early (about 6:30 pm) and had no trouble getting a table, but later arrivals had to wait at the bar for guests to leave. This is one of those rare restaurants that leaves warm memories.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Pontini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing