We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful food & people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pontini

Pontini
Ranked #19 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful food & people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were in Venice early Septmber and ate here 2 out of 3 nights we were there. The food is great so is the house red! The owner is so funny and cute. She saw us during the day & was calling & waving. Everyone there is warm and welcoming and again the food is GREAT!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    461
    80
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is really where you dine good at really affordable prices in touristic Venice. We had some cheeses and cured meats for starters. Their mains are the best ever, fillet with balsamic vinegar and parmeggiana. Also it was nice sitting outside near the canal watching gondolas passing by. Totally recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIBS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great food, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a very small but very friendly restaurant serving very good food at reasonable prices in a great location. Sitting either inside or outside on the Canal di Cannaregio there's always plenty to see and hear, and if you enjoy people watching whilst eating tasty food then this is the right restaurant for you. The only thing worth noting is that it's not very big and only has about 6 tables outside so you either need to book or get there early. It's also right next to the Jewish quarter so combine a bit of sight-seeing at the same time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank nottmmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We ate at Pontini after reading the good reviews here on tripadvisor, and we're not disappointed. The man that served us was very friendly, even though we can't speak Italian so didn't understand much of what he said.

I had spaghetti with salmon, which was delicious and my boyfriend had spaghetti bolognese which he also enjoyed very much. It's good value for money and it's nice sitting out by the canal, even though the tables are a little close together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Best meal in italy , was recommended to us by the young girl at the hotel. Prices are ok and food is fantastic. It's right on the water so can be nice at at sunset if you can get a table outside. Shocked to read that staff were Italian speaking only, both our waiter ( we went back 2 nights in a row ) spoke great English one even spoke French as well. I rate it make sure you go.

Helpful?
1 Thank Damo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Pontini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing