We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but nice”
Review of Al Chianti

Al Chianti
Ranked #130 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“small but nice”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very good value both is terms of price and quality of food. Very nice staff - not too pompous - with a good sense of humor. No cover charge - many places charge 6 E per person just to sit down.
Very small so be aware that you may not get in immediately.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ronn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    254
    76
    26
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised by this wonderful little restaurant in the heart of the shopping district. So often these places are terrible and overpriced. We found the service and the food to be great. A big thanks to AnnaRita and her sons Alberto and Marco for making both visits so wonderful. Their service and personalities really made for an enjoyable experience. Thanks to the chef for 2 great lunches. We highly recommend this little gem!

Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pizzas, good service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Really nice place, just off St Marks square, for good pizzas at lunchtime. In nice little street in the shopping area. Worth going to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very tasty food cooked by an Italian chef. Lots of choices on the menu, and great coffee. The staff were really friendly providing excellent service. The prices are reasonable for a restaurant in a central tourist location. I would eat there again tonight, if I was in Venice!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal in a relaxing quiet and unrushed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I spent 4 days in Venice (Feb 2013) we had a very nice meal at this restaurant after deciding to give it a try after the reviews on this site. We were not disappointed, the staff were attentive but not overly fussy, both pasta dishes we had were really tasty. We also decided to try the desserts: Tiramisu and warm apple tart with cream these were both equally delicious. 2 mains 2 desserts and 2 drinks cost £44 (Euros). We also received a complimentary drink after paying the bill, which was appreciated as it warmed us up prior to leaving the restaurant into the cold night air. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Chianti also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing