We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run, don't walk...away”
Review of La Gondola - CLOSED

La Gondola
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk...away”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Our arrival in Venice was on a Wednesday evening, which we later learned meant that numerous restaurants are closed, and more so in late December when some shut down altogether for annual holiday. Already hungry, and not yet knowing our way around, we figured we would give La Gondola a shot and had probably the worst meal I've ever had in a restaurant. The place was full with only tourists who were likely in the same boat, so if you're making a restaurant black list to accompany your wish list, make sure this is on it. In a pinch, instead opt for a panini from the corner cafe.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    46
    33
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over Priced and Underwhelming”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very poor, tasteless food,very expensive give it a miss.Cover charge and service added 20 euros to the bill .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I wish I can get my money back”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant as our first choice was closed. My husband wanted to buy me seafood diner and the look of seafood display was quite nice. Don't let that fool you. The food was disgusting and the waiter kept trying to sell the seabass (around €65). I settled for spaghetti fruitte de mare. There was no shrimps in it at all, just mussle and super tiny itty bitty clams. The worst frutti de mare I have ever had in my life. My husband order some pasta dish that came in a serving so small, fit for toddler. Same with penne that I ordered for the kids. The steak was not good at all. Didn't order any wine but our bill came to a whooping €165, the most expensive restaurant bill in 7 days in Italy. Please don't eat at this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank esterlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep moving.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We also had poor wi-fi,so did not check this place out before we went in. Bad mistake.
Food was mediocre and our 18 euro tourist special turned in an 80 euro bill by by having a beer and a coffee.
Would not recommend this place,there is so many better places than this. Avoid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
Level Contributor
217 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Would never have found it but for our tour guide”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our tour guide wove us through the streets of Venezia to lunch at this magnificent restaurant. Very busy and chic, we shared our table with another 6 from our group and the dining experience was awesome. Lasagne and Spaghetti marinara were the dishes we chose, accompanied with birra and vino - Prosecco. Yummy, delicious and very very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing