We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better restaurants nearby”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sottoprova

Sottoprova
Ranked #545 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Better restaurants nearby”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had been to other restaurants in the Castello area, but never here before. The welcome was fine, but after our order we waited for an age before our first course ...then still longer before the next..... and we wondered before the final course whether we had been forgotten. We thought by then that we knew about waiting, but it then seemed to take forever to get the bill, which included significant service (!) and cover charges. The food was adequate, but not really worth the wait. Incidentally, they do not offer house wine by the glass - when we finally explained that this is what we wanted, he served us with one glass between the two of us. Not cheap, and you could do a lot better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    33
    24
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, but not the best”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Service reasonably friendly, food fairly good. Overall quite average. A bit expensive after adding 12% service charge on for reasonable service. Very difficult to put 100 characters down for this restuarant. Almost don't want to submit due to the100 character requirement.

Helpful?
Thank KG059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Can't do worse...”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is by far the worst dining experience I have ever had in Italy. We only stopped here because we were hungry and tired after many hours of strolling. The house wine was nasty. My wife's lasagne arrived first and we knew we were in trouble-it looked horrible and tasted worse than frozen dinner lasagne...even the texture was the same as the frozen dinner. Them came my delicious sounding pizza...I believe it was called inferno, the last pizza on the list. It was sparsely dressed with about 8 tiny pepperoni slices, 4 capers, 3 anchovies and some horrible mushrooms. When I asked for pepperoncino (in Italian), I was brought a shaker of red powder!! If I could save one person from this horrible place, it will give our suffering some meaning...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yandon4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

After one of the worst meals ever last night, we were apprehensive about having another meal in a restaurant. Really!!! We considered buying food in the deli:-/
However, we bit the bullet as the prices seemed fair.
The food we had was good enough. The buffalo mozzarella was lovely, so was the bresoala. Apparently the pizza was ok too. However the artichoke topping should have been stored in oil rather than vinegar as the vinegar flavoured the pizza.
Wouldn't come here as a destination but a perfectly peaceful stop off away from the crowds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeductiveNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The worst dining experience we have ever experienced. A one hour wait for our food to arrive, although diners coming long after us were being served. Waiting staff were disinterested. When the food arrived it was really bad value. My meal was a piece of chicken, dry on the outside and raw on the inside with a plate of watery tough spinach which was cold. Husband's meal was a mushy fish concoction, not hot and with very little flavour also with a plate of cold, tough spinach.

Worst value ever combined with surly service, not what we are used to and very surprising and upsetting.

Would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sottoprova also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Sottoprova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing