We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B+B”
Review of Ca' Barba B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Barba B&B
Ranked #33 of 454 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B+B”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and were very impressed.

There is a B+B and an apartment, they are in different areas of the city, we stayed in the B+B which is about 5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge and about 25 minutes or so walk from St Marks square, its also very close to the Rialto Markets Waterbus stop.

Booking was very smooth and Alessandro (who speaks excellent English) was very helpful. He told us the best way to arrive, gave us directions and we were met at the waterbus stop and walked through the maze that is Venice to the B+B. I would recommend this as trying to find your own way around unless you know Venice can be ‘an experience’.

We had a room on the second floor with a jacuzzi bath / shower, the room is comfortable and spotless, it has towels, hairdryer, soaps etc. Make sure you find out how to use the Jaccuzi from Alessandro. The bed is very comfortable. There are some noises at night but you are probably never going to get away from that in this city, its nothing to detract a good nights sleep though.

Breakfast is served from 7.45 and consists of pastries, yoghurt, cheese and fruit. Its very tasty, washed down with freshly made coffee. On Sunday breakfast was served an hour later.
Alessandro will give you plenty of recommendations for restaurants, draw you a map and try to book you a table if you want.

We had a couple of tiny issues but both could be put down to the language barrier. I would recommend this B+B to anyone wishing to stay in Venice, its centrally located, the room is excellent, the food is very good and Alessandro is a great host with plenty of knowledge of the city and a willingness to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
253
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a place for the smart tourists! Alessandro is one of the most amazing hosts I've ever met, he spent time giving us some tips, making delicious capuccinos and telling us how to be Smart Tourists. He even gave us 2 books to learn more about this great place. His b&b is perfectly located, right next to the Rialto market and to the vaporetto station, but it's quiet and hidden from the crazy crowds. The room with the jacuzzi is very comfortable! and, it's not humid at all - I've stayed at places in Venice that can't avoid that . Breakfast is really delicious! Alessandro, grazie mille for the amazing time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our host was as charming as his well-planned, modern B&B! After meeting us at the vaporetto stop, he showed us to a clean and comfortable room with good bed, excellent climate control and an oversized jacuzzi. He offered an adapter for American travelers and free wifi. Accommodations so near the Rialto Bridge were perfect for tourists, as were the breakfasts, croissants fresh from the bakery, and cappuccino. But what makes Ca Barba so special is Alessandro himself, offering his favorite books on Venice and the best advice: "Be smart tourists! Put away those maps and just wander." Each morning he helped us plan our day, and we had three fabulous days in Venice, followed by dinners in his favorite restaurants. We are hoping to return to Ca Barba! Thanks, Alessandro!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Alessandro could not have been kinder or more helpful. Breakfast was delicious, thoughtfully prepared and it was so pleasant to chat and learn about Venice. Room was clean and comfortable. Deserving of all the great reviews!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This B&B, a short walk from the Rialto Market, is excellent. Having booked, Alessandro the owner gave copious details about how to get there from Marco Polo Airport and then met us at the Rialto Mercato Vaperetto stop for the short walk to the B&B. He then gave a wonderful welcoming speech about how to lose your map and really explore Venice. The room has air conditioning, a very comfortable double bed and a bathroom with an invigorating jacuzzi shower. Wi-Fi access is included in the deal. For breakfast, Alessandro goes daily to the local baker for an excellent selection of breads and pastries, served with lots of juice and, being Italian, proper coffee! He had superb recommendations for restaurants and ice cream and even booked a particularly popular restaurant for us. We will definitely be returning to Ca' Barba.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here in early 2010. 5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge and directly opposite the Ca D'or. Really good location - the daily Rialto fish market is literally 2 minutes walk away. Also early morning food shops and bakery so you can get all your breakfast supplies completely fresh. The Traghetto (by the Vaporetto stop Mercato - really close) across the Grand Canal takes you to the supermarket and the main drag. The bedrooms (4 of them, all with en-suites) are upstairs and there is no lounge - the ground floor kitchen/diner is the only communal area. This was our first experience of renting in Venice and it was extremely good value. So much so it changed our way of thinking. No more hotels for us! The one thing we'd have changed is to be a little closer to more Vaporetto routes. Rooms spotless and breakfast is available if you wish - although advertised as a B&B, we decided to forego the second B and found it better to fend for ourselves. As everyone else says, Allesandro is a very welcoming host!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazdeVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Alessandro was a top class host, he showed us how to experience the real Venice by straying off the beaten track to eat and drink with the locals. Lovely, tidy, air conditioned, ensuite b&b, centrally located, great breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#16 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 454 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Ca' Bonvicini
Ca' Bonvicini
#5 of 454 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Angeli
Ca' Angeli
#10 of 454 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#20 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Barba B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Barba B&B

Property: Ca' Barba B&B
Address: San Polo, 1825, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Barba, a few steps away from Rialto, is quite special. Jacuzzi baths and showers in each bathroom. Vintage, restored furniture. Original 19th Century pictures of Venice. Wood-beamed ceilings in each room, which is also equipped with safe-boxes and Wi-Fi access. No detail is overlooked: professional coffee machines for breakfast. Fresh-baked croissants, bread, fruit, yogurt, biscuits and an overall atmosphere, at once discreet and comfortable, encompassing the essential elements of travelling: beauty, informal - yet professional services, an attention to detail and a feeling of well-being which makes one truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Barba B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Barba Hotel Venice
Ca` Barba Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing