We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B. Amazing hospitality.”
Review of Ca' Barba B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Barba B&B
Ranked #41 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Alessandro could not have been kinder or more helpful. Breakfast was delicious, thoughtfully prepared and it was so pleasant to chat and learn about Venice. Room was clean and comfortable. Deserving of all the great reviews!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Ca' Barba B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This B&B, a short walk from the Rialto Market, is excellent. Having booked, Alessandro the owner gave copious details about how to get there from Marco Polo Airport and then met us at the Rialto Mercato Vaperetto stop for the short walk to the B&B. He then gave a wonderful welcoming speech about how to lose your map and really explore Venice. The room has air conditioning, a very comfortable double bed and a bathroom with an invigorating jacuzzi shower. Wi-Fi access is included in the deal. For breakfast, Alessandro goes daily to the local baker for an excellent selection of breads and pastries, served with lots of juice and, being Italian, proper coffee! He had superb recommendations for restaurants and ice cream and even booked a particularly popular restaurant for us. We will definitely be returning to Ca' Barba.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here in early 2010. 5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge and directly opposite the Ca D'or. Really good location - the daily Rialto fish market is literally 2 minutes walk away. Also early morning food shops and bakery so you can get all your breakfast supplies completely fresh. The Traghetto (by the Vaporetto stop Mercato - really close) across the Grand Canal takes you to the supermarket and the main drag. The bedrooms (4 of them, all with en-suites) are upstairs and there is no lounge - the ground floor kitchen/diner is the only communal area. This was our first experience of renting in Venice and it was extremely good value. So much so it changed our way of thinking. No more hotels for us! The one thing we'd have changed is to be a little closer to more Vaporetto routes. Rooms spotless and breakfast is available if you wish - although advertised as a B&B, we decided to forego the second B and found it better to fend for ourselves. As everyone else says, Allesandro is a very welcoming host!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GazdeVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Alessandro was a top class host, he showed us how to experience the real Venice by straying off the beaten track to eat and drink with the locals. Lovely, tidy, air conditioned, ensuite b&b, centrally located, great breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Alessandro is part of what really makes this place work for tourists in Venice. His immaculate B&B and the great location are a real plus too :-))

We traveled like most tourists by train, followed Alessandro's careful directions to take the boat (vaporetto) to a few hundred meters from the B&B at excellent the fruit and fish market. The B&B is perfectly located for the daily hikes to museums, islands and such. The first thing Alessandro does is gives his guests 2 books on Venetian history/culture - one book is more of a writers beautiful love affair with Venice. If you try to read this first you will have a much more subtle appreciation of Alessandro and of the sinking lovely unique town he and the author love.

Like all visitors we left too soon on the early, very early morning speed boat to the airport and waved good bye to friends (Alessandro and his girlfriend) who have an invite to come visit us in Costa Rica at our small hotel - even Innkeepers must take a break every now and again Alessandro!

Best wishes, Berni

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alajuelanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We choose this B&B off the back of all the review on trip advisor and they weren't wrong. Great host, great rooms, great food and a great holiday. Alessandro was the perfect host, whether it was meeting us when we first arrived, telling us the best places to eat or visit, or providing us with suggestions how to best experience Venice (the books he suggested were spot on).

The location is incredibly convenient, so close to the Rialto Bridge but far enough away from all the crowd noise.

Overall and excellent establishment, when we come back to Venice we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were here to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have pick a better place to stay! Alessandro met us and guided is to the B&B lugging our suitcases and once arrived he brought them up the stairs (impressive) and to our room. Once settled Alessandro imparted his vast knowledge of Venice offering advice on what to see and eat and yes "best gelato". We ate at a wonderful restaurant that he recommended that served one of the best meals that we had while touring Italy.Room was comfortable and quiet, Breakfast room was warm and cozy with a beautiful arrangement of flowers Breakfast consisted of fresh pastries from a nearby bakery, fruit and coffee, tea and juice. Alessandro and other guest's provided good conversation before we started our day. Thank you Alessandro!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanny2six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#3 of 471 in Venice
155 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#18 of 471 in Venice
632 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 471 in Venice
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#48 of 471 in Venice
254 reviews
San Polo
Rialto 1082 Bed & Breakfast
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#14 of 471 in Venice
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Barba B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Barba B&B

Address: San Polo, 1825, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $96 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Barba, a few steps away from Rialto, is quite special. Jacuzzi baths and showers in each bathroom. Vintage, restored furniture. Original 19th Century pictures of Venice. Wood-beamed ceilings in each room, which is also equipped with safe-boxes and Wi-Fi access. No detail is overlooked: professional coffee machines for breakfast. Fresh-baked croissants, bread, fruit, yogurt, biscuits and an overall atmosphere, at once discreet and comfortable, encompassing the essential elements of travelling: beauty, informal - yet professional services, an attention to detail and a feeling of well-being which makes one truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Barba Hotel Venice
Ca` Barba Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing