We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Venice!”
Review of Ca' Barba B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Barba B&B
Ranked #38 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Venice!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at Venice Airport a bit anxious about finding the B&B but Alessandro had given us directions that got us directly to his door. He met us at the entrance and showed us our room after giving us some precious tips about the city.
We really enjoyed being near the touristic places and at the same time being able to enjoy a quiet room at Ca'Barba.
The breakfast was very good and served by Alessandro himself. Capuccino, croissants and cereals were on the menu.
Thank you very much Alessandro for making this stay memorable.
Louise and Benoit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslou_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
253
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived in Venice by train from Rome. Alessandro could not have been more helpful. He sent us detailed directions by email, but when we called him from the vaporetto stop at Rialto Mercato, he immediately came to meet us and escorted us back to the B&B, and helped with our luggage.
The house is lovely, and our room at the top of the house was atttractive, spacious and comfortable. The modern ensuite featured a spa bath. Breakfast was very good, and Alessandro makes great coffee.
I loved the location, it is very close to the fruit and vegetable market, and the Pescheria, and a short walk to the Rialto bridge. As well as the vaporetto, there is also a traghetto close by, to cross the Grand Canal, which Alessandro told us about. This was only one of many tips he shared with us to help us get the most out of our stay in Venice. He has a supply of books about Venice, not your usual tourist guides, for use while a guest. I highly recommend taking advantage of them, and Alessandro's advice about the city he so obviously loves and takes pride in.
The only problem, I suspect common to many Venetian houses, is the steep, narrow stairs. We booked fairly late, so had the top floor, but next time I will book in advance and get one of the lower rooms. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I can not stress enough how amazing Alessandro and his B&B was! Not only was the location close to all the major sites and only a short walk from a water taxi stop, the rooms were beautiful! The owner, Alessandro, was also nothing short of the perfect host. Not only does he make himself available at anytime to answer your questions, he also provides you with some thoughtful insight into how to tour Venice. I would highly recommend Ca'Barba to anyone staying in Venice and would definitely come back. This is truly the perfect place!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmartinig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice and comfortable rooms, a nice place to stay in Venice, rather close to Rialto. Good breakfast! Alessandro is a great host with many advices about interesting places and good restaurants. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Am writing to support other positive reviews of this B&B. We chose it based on the good reviews and were not disappointed. A quiet, yet handy location. Clean, comfortable room. Great breakfast and Alessandro is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble. He even made our restaurant bookings for us. Would definately recommend Ca Barba.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staying here made our trip to Venice a more enjoyable experience. Alessandro was very helpful and even met us at the water taxi stop to guide us to the B&B location. The room was a good size. Breakfast each morning was made fresh and was very good. The price was a little high but that is to be expected in an expensive city like Venice. The location was pretty good (everything in Venice is within walking distance) and it was in a quiet side street. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. Don't be afraid to ask Alessandro for tips on the city.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I do not give 5 star reviews but Ca' Barba deserves it! This B&B is perfect. Perfectly clean, perfect breakfast, perfect owner (great advice and sooo helpful), and perfectly located (not in the middle of everything but it is easy to get to everything.). My husband and I loved the jacuzzi tub; what a treat! Alessandro offered us an iPad to use which seemed too good to be true; it was very helpful. Alexessandro is so accommodating; he is an especially good map drawer! He was so happy to make us reservations anywhere and draw great maps for us to get to places easily. If I had to complain about something it would be the firm bed; Americans beware that Italian B&B beds are harder than we are used to. Stay here!!!

Room Tip: They seemed good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 458 in Venice
1,099 reviews
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#40 of 458 in Venice
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#18 of 458 in Venice
616 reviews
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#2 of 458 in Venice
143 reviews
San Polo
B&B Rialto
B&B Rialto
#181 of 458 in Venice
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Barba B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Barba B&B

Property: Ca' Barba B&B
Address: San Polo, 1825, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Barba, a few steps away from Rialto, is quite special. Jacuzzi baths and showers in each bathroom. Vintage, restored furniture. Original 19th Century pictures of Venice. Wood-beamed ceilings in each room, which is also equipped with safe-boxes and Wi-Fi access. No detail is overlooked: professional coffee machines for breakfast. Fresh-baked croissants, bread, fruit, yogurt, biscuits and an overall atmosphere, at once discreet and comfortable, encompassing the essential elements of travelling: beauty, informal - yet professional services, an attention to detail and a feeling of well-being which makes one truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Barba B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Barba Hotel Venice
Ca` Barba Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing