We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel in a quiet area with a lovely courtyard for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #118 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel in a quiet area with a lovely courtyard for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

An attractive hotel about 5 minutes walk from Piazza Roma and convenient for most places you would want to walk to in Venice. Breakfast is a buffet, with tables in a pretty courtyard (with very cheeky thieving birds!) and is more than adequate. Our room was fairly small but comfortable and had a nice view over a canal. The only thing missing was a comfortable lounge area; there is plenty of space, they just haven't made use of it.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room on the second floor - they are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie_lonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    425
    116
    22
    6
See reviews for
131
547
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We found this hotel fantastic for the price we paid for our short weekend away in Venice.
The location is around 5 minutes walk from P.Roma bus terminal and the train station and the 1st stop of the Vaperetto service. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood which we loved with fantastic views of the canal, just as I had in mind prior to arriving. A huge thank you to hotel staff for upgrading us to a hotel view, made our stay even more special.
Rooms are clean, tidy - a little dated , but we thought this fitted in appropriately with the traditional venetian look (Which is what we were after!)
Staff where exceptionally friendly and where on hand 24/7 to answer any questions or concerns we had about anything to do with our weekend in Venice!
Breakfast that was included was a standard continental, but absolute ideal start to the day and very tasty.

Overall we loved this hotel as it was away from the main hustle and bustle of Central Venice. There are plenty of bars and restaurant situated on the same street as the hotel, all serving excellent quality food for good value (10euros main meal) and drink (5 euros) for a pint. Being the first stop of the Vaperetto made everyday like a boat excursion as you never noticed the same thing twice, Would definitely return to the Al Sole!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal room! We had a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deegulbum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

My room was a little dated but clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is nice, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. You have to pay for wifi, and it wouldn't work in my room, only in the lobby. The neighborhood is charming and fairly quiet, and the hotel is very close to the train and bus station (about 5 minutes walk, but don't forget you'll have to go up and down about 3 bridges with your luggage).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel brings the history of Venice to life. The halls leading up to the stairs have pictures of the wealthy family who used to own this former palace and the lounge contains antique trunks, it is very atmospheric. If you love history, stay here. The front desk staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly, always happy to help. The view from our room was perfect, overlooking the canal bridge. The room itself had all the basic amenities, double bed (with characteristic head board crests), desk, bathroom and flat screen tv. The only draw back for this hotel would be the location, if you want to be near San Marco and similar sights, this is a fair distance walk away (although transportation is close by). It is in a quiet little area, which just adds to its charm. Overall, very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeDG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a charming hotel that really is well situated. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure that your stay is everything you hoped it would be. They were knowledgeable and very eager to assist us whenever we had questions. Like most european hotels, the rooms are somewhat small, but well appointed. We had a lovely room overlooking the canal, plus it was quiet. One draw back, no free wifi when we were their; however it was available just a 2 blocks away at a cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. We thought it was a great location which was close to piazzo roma where buses are for the airport so not too many bridges to lug your bags over. The hotel was full of character and reception staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was basic, what you expect , room was a little small and old with thin walls but the hotel is old like venice so you except it and we thought it was great value. You can take a gondola from outside the hotel, the hotel offer to book for you or arrange a sharing one to save you money. We took it on our own and highly recommend it! There are some good resteraunts and bars close by a few bridges away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Having been to Venice before I thought it wasn't such a good location but I forgot what it's like having to drag your suitcase onto a vaporetto and fight the crowds...this hotel is just 2 small bridges away from the main bus station, but it feels like light years!

It's a lovely little hotel next to a canal. Quiet at night and within tripping distance to a really lovely restaurant.

The staff were really helpful and were welcoming in our arrival at midnight after our flight had been cancelled.

The room was a Superior Room with a garden view. It was quite compact but clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The room was clean and all the facilities were in good working order.

Traditional continental breakfast was provided in the garden with lots of bread, croissants, meat & cheeses, fruit & cereals. More than enough choice.

A very beautiful location and easy to walk to any number of vaporetto stops

Room Tip: A canal room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraZH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#84 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#76 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#161 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing