We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good .....but smoking and NO WiFi reduced the rating”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #128 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

There are many positives to report for this hotel. It is close to the rail and auto/bus arrival points. We arrived by rail and the hotel was a relatively easy 10 minute walk away (it would be nice if the Venice authorities would place ramps on all of the bridges to make rolling luggage easier). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room (we booked a superior double with a canal view) was quite large as was the bathroom. Most importantly, they were both very clean. Breakfast (included in our booking) was quite adequate and sufficiently fueled us for the sightseeing day ahead. It is unfortunate that smoking is allowed on the exterior patio. We were forced to eat inside to avoid the choking smoke fumes. The room was quiet at night and although the bed was on the hard side it provided a good night’s sleep. The hotel is nicely located away from most of the nightlife but close to the vaporetto stop (either P. Roma (closest) or Ferrovia). There are ample restaurants and shops nearby. The only negative, and honestly an irritant, was the fact that WiFi was NOT included. It costs and unacceptable 3 Euros for one hour; 10 Euros for 24 hours. Any cost for WiFi is, in my opinion, out of touch with reality. We are a connected world and WiFi is a necessity that should NOT be an extra charge.

Room Tip: Go the extra and book a canal view...it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 935 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Hotel Al Sole is very conveniently situated for the Bus Station (5 mins) and the Train Station (10 mins). The location makes it easy for arrival/departure as there are only a couple of bridges to cross with suitcases.
We found the staff very helpful and we had a pleasant canal view room. The breakfast was good and the Hotel has some nice Restaurants nearby. It was easy to walk to many parts of Venice from the Hotel (Rialto Bridge/St Mark's Square).

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kindness, we are very happy to see that, in the other things, you find the staff very helpful. We try to give a superior service based on kindness and competence.
We look forward to welcome you again for your next visit in Venice.
With best regards.

Luigi Busetto
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We and some American friends have just spent 4 nights at this delightful hotel, which is well situated for the bus and train stations. Have tried to stay at this hotel several times before but it was always fully booked, so we were very pleased that we could at last sample the delights of this hotel. Our room, which was at the back of the hotel and therefore did not enjoy a good view, was one of the largest that we have ever stayed in in Venice - in fact I think it was possibly a family room. It was very comfortable and clean and as stated in previous reviews had a free in room safety deposit box. Our friends stayed in room 101 which was at the front of the hotel overlooking the canal so they had excellent views. Breakfast was adequate although not overly exciting. Due to the fantastic weather at the time of our stay we were able to eat breakfast in the courtyard which was very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always available to answer questions and advise where necessary. Overall we were not disappointed and would definitely return to this hotel. As has been stated in other reviews there was a nice little bar next door and also a number of good restaurants in the vicinty. The hotel did recommend a couple of restaurants and if you made a booking through them then there was a 10% reduction in the bill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was by far my favourite of all our city breaks, made more so by this lovely little hotel. We were told it was originally a convent, a few hundred years ago.
The room was quite small but not the smallest we've had and with its 'wonky' walls and floors it was quite quaint. Breakfast was great and the staff were lovely, all very helpful.
The location is spot on, so central to all the main sites of Venice yet only a short stroll away from the bus station (which we got from the airport). It took a while to find our bearings but Venice is like that.
Would highly recommend this location, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in early May. We arrived just before lunch but our room wasn't ready to checkin, I asked one of the very friendly receptionists if it would be possible to have a canal view room to which she replied that she'd already noticed we'd requested one when we booked and had arranged it for us. When we checked in and saw our room we were so pleased. Brilliant double room (room 103 i think) overlooking the canal. Rooms are very traditional, not huge, but very comfortable. Really nice and modern bathroom and shower. The room has a free safe deposit box.
Any queries about Venice the hotel staff are more than happy to help.
Having breakfast outside in the garden/courtyard was really pleasant and the choice of food was very good.
The location is excellent. Five minutes from the bus stations, 10 minutes from the train station, but still just out of the way so you dont get big crowds walking past the hotel. Theres a lovely little bar right next door which we frequented sat having a few drinks in the sun.
Would highly recommened this hotel for anybody planning a trip to Venice. It's superb :)

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Al Sole for 5 nights at the end of April and it was a fabulous break. The hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes walk from the bus station which is great as trying to find a hotel in Venice can be a nightmare. Lovely building and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was very clean, shower cubicle was not for the overweight but adequate. Bed was comfy and location of the room was so quiet which was great. Breakfast was good with enough choice and you could eat outside in the courtyard. Canal just in front and a lovely bar next door. Plenty of restaurants nearby and would recommend it; in fact friends of ours have just booked for the end of this month.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wirralpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much to take time to share your opinions, we are very satisfied to see that our work has been appreciated.
We look forward to have another occasion to welcome you in Venice, hoping that we will be improved again for your next visit.
With our best regards

Luigi Busetto
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here in mid-April on an art history trip. The location is excellent, both in terms of travelling (5 minutes from Piazzale Roma for the bus) and for exploring. We typically walked to every part of Venice on our trip from here, but we felt well away from the crowds. The hotel is on a path that runs by a canal, so views canal-side are lovely. At the back is a garden where you can have breakfast. Our room was very large with decent bathroom and bed, though the continental pillows can be a bit harsh. There wasn't masses of storage space for clothes apart from a generous wardrobe, but that wasn't really an issue given our stay of 4 days.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and even knew me by name, which was quite impressive. They booked restaurants, helped with bus timetables and even let me check-in for my return flight on their desk computer rather than paying for an internet connection.

I am very happy to recommend Al Sole and would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: The larger canal side rooms are spacious though more expensive, and if students are out celebrating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raz_Khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,019 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#170 of 385 in Venice
660 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#115 of 385 in Venice
853 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#120 of 385 in Venice
521 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $86 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing