We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a canal view...”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #133 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC, CAD
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“room with a canal view...”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

quaint building, like every building in Venice - 15 minutes from the Bus terminus or train station - room check in with Valentina was easy, we found comfort with the question "is this a good choice for our place to stay at!" - we had a view of the canal, with the windows open and experienced every sound of life in normal Venice! - waking up to the sounds of Venice is indeed quite something - check out with Gabriella was also easy and helpful - I recommend Hotel Al Sole - love Venice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2stepRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    447
    131
    25
    9
See reviews for
144
574
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel al sole is a typical Venetian hotel with a calming and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are adequate and clean and had a beautiful canal view room. The breakfast was beautiful and gave a wide choice of fruits and fresh croissants,ham,cheese,salami ect. The breakfast garden is AMAZING and having tiny birds chirping perched on the back of the chair was beautiful. The hotel staff are very helpful and would deffo recommend a canal view room. Hotel al sole is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. The hotel is very well located and I would deffo return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhoexplorer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Attractive old palazzo with a gorgeous internal courtyard for drinks and breakfast. Definitely go for canal rooms as others are very small. Good service and pretty view over canal. Good value but a bit of a walk from the centre. V much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

An important benefit of this hotel is that it feels in the centre of the city, but is only a 5 minute walk from the car park, buses or station. So you don't need expensive water taxis to get there. Rooms were pleasant, air conditioning worked (which can be an issue in Venice!) and a nice outdoor eating area for breakfast. Venice is expensive, so nothing is great value, but this was fairly priced for the city. The public areas of the hotel are just what you expect: old, a little decayed, but charming.
Staff were fine, but insisted on recommending restaurants that obviously paid them for sending the business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and appreciation, we are pleased to know that you have a good memory of what has been your home in Venice.
With this reply we would like to clarify that we are not paid by restaurants to send them business and we can not confirm this suggestion that calls into question our professionalism.
We have selected a very small number of restaurants (in the "jungle" of Venice) to be able to give a very good choice to our guests and if we talk about restaurants is simply to advise that there are certain benefits being our guests, as for example discounts.
One of the things we are most proud of is our honesty and the fact that we can make it available to our guests.
Hoping that the fact it is made clear we send our best regards and thank you again to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Got there around 10am in morning. Room wasn't ready so had to wait until check-in time. No problem. At the reception, checked-in with the manager who also seemed like the owner. He didn't seem very welcoming, and his demeanor rather business-like. As we were conversating, he totally ignored me and started chatting to someone who was leaving the hotel. That was rude. Anyways, as we check-in he went on a quick 1 minute spiel about taking tours to Murano and bla bla. No thank you. Now to the hotel itself.

Location wonderful once you know exactly how to get here. Only 10 minutes walk to Train station. Room and bed is exactly what you could expect from a 3 star. Nothing fancy but very appropriate of its rating. Breakfast is continental style. No warm items. Croissants were good and fresh. Value for money. Yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. Our room was clean and well attended to during our 3 days there. We faced the canal with windows that opened so we could enjoy the local atmosphere. It was very quiet with the windows shut. This location is not as busy as the area nearer the Grand Canal yet all parts of the city were easily accessible either on foot or by vaparetto. Loved the decor of the lobby and the fact that there was an enclosed courtyard either for breakfast or just for relaxation. The front desk staff was outstanding and very accomodating. The only negative (and it wasn't a major issue for us) was the fact that there was no free wi-fi in the lobby and the 5 euros per hour seemed rather steep. We would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded room facing the canal. It was a good choice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annerose321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Hotel Al Sole after a friend recommended it. This is the second time we have stayed here, and returned because of its location. It is close to the grand canal! but just far enough away to be not quite so busy. It is easy to walk over two bridges from the Piazale Roma from the airport bus to the hotel, and the staff are excellent. This time we were particularly impressed by Daniella on reception. She spoke a number of languages, ensuring guests felt very comfortable making requests, and nothing was too much trouble. Our room, although not huge, had a lovely view of the canal . We would go again if we return to Venice

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 386 in Venice
829 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#169 of 386 in Venice
644 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#86 of 386 in Venice
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#161 of 386 in Venice
453 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
1,030 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#170 of 386 in Venice
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing