We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #131 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked as part of a KGB deal. The hotel is a real bonus for a value package. Near to the bus station so a quarter mile walk with the cases but far enough not to be troubled by noise and people. We had a room facing the canal so pleasant to look out, not too noisy either. Some reviews grumble about the breakfast. Maybe they crawled in at the last minute. We found a lot of variety, fresh rolls, pastries, cereal and yogurt. If people expect a 'full English' they should go to Margate.The location in the courtyard is lovely.
The hotel is a convenient walk to the Rialto or to get a river bus - go back to the coach station. There is also a supermarket down there.
The hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable and polite. I would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Steve154921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 943 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very poor hotel with tiny room. Not a romantic place. Walls were thin and we have been woken up when sleeping by guest passing by the corridor. We have a direct view from the intern "garden" that have nothing special but outdoor chairs and tables. We had vis-à-vis with the front building. Good thing is the location of this hostel (more an hostel than a hotel) bear the bus station that takes you to the airport.
Awful breakfast with industrial food and noisy when fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepper_Watermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

and impressive on arrival, friendly welcome, full of character building.
Room overlooking an alleyway but who needs a view, when you can step outside into one. Well equipped and spotless bathroom. Buffet breakfast in a lovely courtyard. For a first trip to Venice it is an excellent location to start to explore..........cant wait till next visit

Room Tip: I would assume a room overlooking the courtyard would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. The location has to be seen to be believed as it faces onto a canal with a gondola and bridge right outside the front door. We walked to the hotel from the station and initially I wasn't sure about being so far from San Marco but it turns out this is the 'nicer' part of Venice away from all the busy tourist areas and tacky shops. You can then walk to Rialto and San Marco in about 30 mins exploring Venice's narrow streets, canals and bridges along the way. The service was always warm and friendly with staff seeming genuinely interested in caring for their guests. The hotel has a wonderful leafy walled garden which provided the most beautiful location for eating breakfast and planning the day ahead. The room was 'petite' but adequate and very clean. My only small gripe is that WiFi was not free. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a flash if I could.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Negative reviews on this hotel had me a bit worried but turned out was a decent hotel. Price was about 50% less than average price for Venice hotels during big festival weekend. So don't expect perfection. Room was nice, clean, overlooked the canal. No smell or mold spores. Front desk very helpful. Correct, breakfast isn't great....coffee from the machine is awful. But for the price I would sacrifice that.

Location is close to the rail station (5-10 minutes) which is nice after a long trip into town. Walk to St Marco Square is around 30 minutes without stops. But not all that bad if you want to browse and wander.

Message to management however. Spend about 30 Euros and invest in some shower fixtures that stay in the wall! Room 304.

Room Tip: Overlooking the court yard will be the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked this hotel based on previous reviews on this site and have to say I am very disappointed. My room is covered in mould all over the walls and ceiling which can be quite dangerous if the mould spores. In the bathroom the shower screen does not work at all so when ever you use the shower the water completely floods the bathroom. The breakfast is average and the general nature of the hotel is below average. I would not recommend this hotel at all....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your message, we apologize for the problem you had in the room.
We do not know how it was possible that this problem was not found and fixed before; in any case we found the origin of the water (in a venetian palace is not so easy because they are very old) and we are happy to say that the room has been completely fixed.
In any case, usually if you have any problem with any room we are more than happy, if possible, to find a better solution for you.
We know that your expericene unfortunatley has not been the best possible, but this situations are very important to us in order to try improve our services and we would like to show you this improvements if you will give us another occasion to welcome you in Venice.
With best regards.

Luigi Busetto
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed here for the second time and it was just as good as the first. The staff makes this place. Location is great right on one of the side canals. My college students were able to catch a water taxi literally from the front door to the airport. You can reach anything in Venice within a good walk. Its also convenient with only two bridges to cross to get to the bus area and this can be done in 5-10 mins.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry-Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,109 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#162 of 385 in Venice
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#122 of 385 in Venice
854 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#111 of 385 in Venice
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $71 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing