We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, fantastic location!!”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #129 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 6 nights to celebrate our honeymoon and really cannot fault it!!
First of all, the hotel's location could not be better, very close to everything!! it took us a day to get our bearings but then we found lots of short cuts and little pathways to all main attraction. Also if you turn left out of the hotel there are some fantastic little bars and restaurants off the main track.
We paid a little extra for a canal view as it was a special occasion, and we were not upset!! The room was lovely and quiet with a beautiful view of passing gondolas outside! Our room had a medieval look to it, gorgeous high ceilings and a fantastic huge window. the room was lovely and cool despite roasting August temps outside.
The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. one gentleman on reception helped us to work out a train time table and plan a day trip to Milan.
We used the garden terrace for breakfast most mornings, we found this adequate with a decent selection of pastries, cereal, fruit and yoghurt.
We really loved this hotel, and Venice! We will def stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 945 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Best staff and hotel of my trip. Thank God for incompetence. I was booked and prepaid into a different hotel and shuttled here since they had sold my room(another story) I arrived angry, tired and frustrated. It was my first day on a 20 day trip through the med, I was sure that this was going to be a miserable trip. I arrived with my wife and mother(80), and were shown to our two rooms. The rooms were above average size(at american standards) and the bathroom was large. The staff was courteous and heplful. The breakfast was included and was a continental plus, breakfast(perfect for us). There is no restaurant, but a nice dining area and outside patio. the rooms were clean and confortable. I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the patio and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martini14810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a canal view room on the 3rd floor - - gorgeous view out the window. The location of this hotel is great, because we've learned to stay away from the touristy parts of Venice,so that we can feel like we have the place to ourselves, and close to the busses/trains (so we don't have to drag our luggage forever to get to and from transportation) The lovely quiet street that this hotel is on is perfect for enjoying the non-touristy Venice. You can walk to San Marco, if you want swarms of people. There is a bakery, a couple of restaurants and a cafe/bar (with free WiFi) right in the immediate area. The staff seemed a bit snooty when we first arrived, but they warmed up and were very helpful to us. The only downside is the shower situation - the half glass door with hand held shower makes for a giant mess. And you have to pay for WiFi in the hotel, and the service is a bit sketchy sometimes. But, a small price to pay!

Room Tip: canal view room was wonderful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy58775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My daughter and I spent three nights here in May of this year. The staff were marvellous, our budget room was really comfortable and the generous breakfasts catered for most tastes The location of the hotel is perfect for getting around the city and we enjoyed hopping on the vaporetti from the Piazzala Roma which is just moments away.

Room Tip: A room looking over the canal would have been perfect but we were on a tight budget and our room off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not knowing anything about Venice, I blindly chose Hotel Al Sole for our two-night stay. From the photos on the internet, it appeared very Venetian, and the rates were reasonable for Venice.

As it turned out, the hotel itself was charming with lots of atmosphere. It looks in reality just like the photos on the internet. The public areas have huge, old wooden beams in the ceiling, period décor, and hardwood floors. The garden (which is being renovated) is a pleasant oasis. Computers are available near the reception desk for guest use; however, the hotel does charge for WiFi.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. The front desk staff acted as both receptionist and concierge and, even in busy periods, took time to answer guests’ questions and advise them on transportation and sights as well as restaurants. The breakfast buffet crew practically ran in their effort to keep platters and bowls replenished, and yet they smiled and helped guests with the coffee dispensers.

We had a large, pleasant superior room overlooking the small canal (Rio del Malcanton). We loved watching the gondolas and working boats on the canal. There is a gorgeous palazzo across the canal with a hidden garden and a mysterious tower, worthy of any romantic novel. Although other reviewers have commented on unpleasant smells from the canal, we had our windows open most of the time and didn’t notice any odors, just fresh air.

There were a few drawbacks to Hotel Al Sole. One is related to reaching it with our luggage in tow. We are seniors and have more difficulty with even small bags than younger people. From the railroad station, we had to carry our three bags over a high arched bridge with steps, walk a short distance to another bridge, carry the bags up and down seven steps of that bridge, and wheel them about a half mile along the busy fondamenta. If you have travel with a lot of luggage, or have mobility issues, this hotel is probably not a good choice.

In addition to the distance you have to maneuver luggage from arrival/departure points (the train station or Piazzale Roma buses and car rentals), the elevator at the hotel is the smallest that we’ve ever seen and barely accommodates two people. After checking in and leaving the luggage, we found it easy to reach Piazzale Roma, the train station, and vaporettos, and to stroll through San Croce neighborhoods.

Our room was large. The red-painted furniture was Ikea quality, and a free-standing cupboard was the only storage. Oddly, the terrazzo floor in our room was damaged with loose stones lying in the hole; we didn’t notice until we moved the throw rug over it. We just replaced the rug and ignored it. The room and bathroom were clean and functional.

The location of the hotel is convenient (except for luggage issues), and we walked to vaporetto stops at the train station and at San Toma in a few minutes. One of the highlights of our trip was seeing the 15th century church, Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari—it is glorious indeed and only a short walk from the hotel. At night, the Santa Croce neighborhood is quiet and dark (but so are most Venetian neighborhoods away from major plazas and campos); and, as shops and restaurants close, somewhat spooky with its narrow streets and alleys. You could easily get lost by taking a wrong turn. We had dinner one night at the excellent Ribot Restaurant just a short walk along the fondamenta. During the day we enjoyed lunch at outdoor cafes nearby. As fans of Donna Leon’s Commissario Brunetti, we joked about possibly turning a corner in San Polo and finding him on his walk to the Questura.

With some qualifications, I would recommend Hotel Al Sole for a Venice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rockys_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very close to marina for cruise ships, waterbus and bus to airport. You can use a water taxi to get to the front door but expensive. Be prepared to roll you luggage over two large bridges which is difficult.
We had a superior room on the second floor which looked over the canal and it was enchanting to see all the boats go buy.. The only draw back was the bathroom with a small weird shower and a toilette you had to pump the water into it. There is an elevator to take up luggage
Lots of cute restaurants around.
The breakfast was good with fruit yogurt, toast, sweet buns etc. The staff were very helpful and gave you all sorts of information. We took the free water taxi to the meurino glass factory and it was wonderful to see it. Bought a clock and elephant and just luv'd them. Beware of glass from China which is sold as cheaper prices but not so nice,
WE were there from May 2 to 6th.

Room Tip: It is better to get a superior room which has a water view and is larger. This is an old building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Al Sole Hotel Venice is the place where to stay in Venice !!! It offers the nice opportunity to enjoy the calm of Venice, with all access to the Vaporeto within 5 minutes.
Next door, there is a casual bar with the perfect small terasse looking to the canal. Perfect to have a drink far from all toursits !!! Thank you very much to the entire team for being so helpful, friendly .... always with the smile !!!
For sure, next stay will be there...

Room Tip: #301 on the upper floor, facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#154 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#123 of 385 in Venice
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 385 in Venice
1,110 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
1,165 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#165 of 385 in Venice
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $82 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing