We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #116 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over new year and was very impressed by the location being a short walk from the bus and railway stations. The rooms were clean and tidy and relatively quiet. We found the beds were excellent and were very comfortable. As we've found elsewhere in Italy, the breakfasts were not great and it was a shame that the coffee was poor quality machine generated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    404
    110
    21
    7
See reviews for
123
526
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location when it come to getting around. Close to the train and bus station yet also close to the sights. The price was also good for Venice although the room was not one of the best as its views were of a wall no more than a meter away which also made the room very dark and as the room had only limited lights it was always dark. The décor in the room was tired and the walls looked like they were in desperate need of attention. Also the dust in one of the bed laps was so thick it looked as if it had never been cleaned but apart from this the hotel was clean and the corridors and reception/common areas was well decorated and maintained.

The breakfast was ok and nothing more. Having stayed in two hotels in other areas of Italy before this one it was easy to compare and was by far the worst of the three. Very limited choice although what was there was good.

Wi-fi was very expensive if you wanted it and would recommend going to a bar/cafe if you want to use the net as the price was seriously not worth it.

The service was good and the receptionists were very helpful and friendly when it came to answering any questions we had.

Overall the hotel was good for what we needed it for and i would stay again if the price was right. As for whether i would recommend it to others id have to say i would but get a room with a view and don't be too hopeful of a vast breakfast and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Try to get room with a view. Don't bother with room 201 if you like light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoconnor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent half term there for 5 days with child. Perfect location near main train and bus station, supermarket for picnics and on a canal with free speed boat trip to Murano glass factory. We also spent two warm sunny afternoons at the Lido with great icecream.

We had a lovely room with view and bells ringing in the evenings, excellent dining and entertainment all within walking or vaparetto (water taxi) We even found a gondola ride for E2.50 from one side of the Grand Canal to the other - S.Toma. Pretty courtyard garden.

The hotel is really clean and lovely free soaps, sweets and healthy breakfasts. Staff all really friendly.

Room Tip: all have lovely rooftop views even if no canal - we had canal view room and pretty courtyard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent service from the staff, who were very helpful throughout the stay. Good recommendations for restaurants and what attractions to visit.
A free water taxi to Murano to visit a glass making factory was arranged by the hotel as well.

Room Tip: any room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We write a lot of reviews for all over the world, and what we try and say is how it is. It was a special anniversary present, for me, a trip to venice and a stay at the Al Sole. My husband had emailed previously to say any little something, i,e touch for our anniversary would be nice, he was thinking that they may leave,. a couple of roses, small box of chocs, bottle of prosecco, whatever, but nothing. After all he was paying 225.00 pounds a night for 3 nights for a canal room, so 680 pounds for the break, b and b. When we arrived we were greeted with nothing, he was very dissappointed and went to ask the staff, though nice, looked non plussed and just shrugged. he then arranged and paid for a bottle of prosecco to be in our room for when we got back from our first afternoon out in venice. Having said that, The Al Sole is a good hotel, based in a great location for the airport, buses and not having to cart luggage too far over all the cobbled street and bridges, venice has. The breakfast has been mentioned in many previous reviews, it is extremely dissappointing, bread rolls, cheese, salami, awful cakes and not fresh orange juice. Very poor for the price. Sometimes you do, on entering the hotel get a really bad water smell, but not in the rooms. So when you have passed reception, your ok. Overall enjoyed our stay, but that special touch and a good bfast would have been perfect.

Room Tip: if you can afford it definately get a canal room, it really is worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. The location was superb for trekking around Venice. We loved being on a small canal but wished we had a view of the canal. Our room was clean, fairly large with high ceilings. Internet wasn't easy to access even after paying for it. Breakfasts were disorganized for a large group. Chaotic to access things. Cooked food was also quite cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal higher up to avoid noise. Loved the old charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Al Sole in Venice, Italy (September 13-15, 2012). Excellent location and helpful, pleasant staff. Although our room did not over-look the canal, this was compensated with being an over-sized room which made our stay more pleasant. Great spot for walking all over Venice. We would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#85 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#115 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
#41 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#103 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing