We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Al Sole
Nearby Hotels
$358
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$294
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$263
$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$256
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$280
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$852
$533
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveler rating
310
485
146
31
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
485
146
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazzale romatrain stationcanal viewcourtyard gardenminute walkcroissantsgrand canallovely hotelexcellent locationold palacecontinental breakfastboiled eggshigh ceilingshamthree starwater buson foot
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 984 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Al Sole in Venice, Italy (September 13-15, 2012). Excellent location and helpful, pleasant staff. Although our room did not over-look the canal, this was compensated with being an over-sized room which made our stay more pleasant. Great spot for walking all over Venice. We would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is close to the station, requiring to cross just 1 bridge (bridges in Venice are not easy for carrying across luggage -they have steps). The room we had (I guess it was 101) had a "great" view of the canal....just very very beautiful!!! The room was spacious. The breakfast was good! The staff were very helpful!! we had asked them to arrange for something before we came and it was as requested. You can walk from here to San Marco -takes about 20mins. Cost wise, it is a a little on the higher side when compared to the rest of our stay across Italy, but this is Venice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before moving onto an apartment and could not fault it in any way. Our room was very comfortable - a bit on the small side but very clean with a king sized bed, efficient air conditioning and a good bathroom with double shower. The continental breakfast was nice and we enjoyed eating outside in the garden. We found the staff to be very friendly and reception was manned 24 hours a day. Our room overlooked the garden which was nice.
The location was perfect on a quiet picturesque canal yet only a few minutes from the bus and train stations and vaporetto stops. We ate at quite a few nearby restaurants and were very impressed by the quality and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent two nights in the Hotel Al Sole from the 23rd to the 25th of August, before boarding on the Splendour of the Seas for a cruise.

First of all, the location was excellent for us. A 5 minutes walk and 2 bridges to cross from the Piazzale Roma (Bus Station / Cruise Terminal). This allows you to leave the airport, ride a bus for 15 minutes, walk 5 minutes and be in your room. Just one piece of advice, study a map before leaving home. The itinerary from the bus station is very simple, but Venice is a bit confusing and overwhelming, so a little preparation goes a long way (especially when you are carrying suitcases).

The hotel is not close to St Marc Square, but Venice is not a big city, so you can walk and be there in 30 minutes. Or you can take a vaporetto (the boats) and enjoy a scenic ride to the center. Please note taht a all-inclusive transportation pass is available at the airport, on the ACTV machines. They include the return trip from the airport by bus, and any vaporetto ride for your choosen duration (12, 24, 36, 48... hours). We chose the 36 hours pass, and made full use of it by exploring the city of venice, but also the beach island of The Lido, and the very picturesque island of Burrano (highly recommended !)

The public rooms in he hotel are beautiful, and you really get this 'I AM in Venice' vibe, that you probably wouldn't get in more modern places. The bedrooms are less impressive, a bit on the small side (we hade a standard bedroom), but they are very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The beds are perfect, and we slept like babies.

The breakfast can be taken in the beautiful courtyard that is well protected from the sun with a well manicured vegetation. I loved going there in the morning or at the end of the day, just enjoying the place and the tranquillity. The breakfast itself was nothing to write home about, but it was more than adequate.

The staff was very attentive, spoke english, and there everytime we needed them, day or night.

We really likes this hotel. It is not the best we've ever stayed in, and probably not the best in Venice, but we felt that for the price and the location, the service was superior to anything we would have expected.

(On a side note, Venice is NOT the expensive city we were told it would be. Avoid dining or drinking near the Piazza San Marco, where the prices are multiplied by 5 - think 10€ for a coke - and prefer doing it in the small streets everywhere, and you'll pay exactly the same kind of prices you'd pay anywhere else. One evening, we were able to get a great dinner for two for less than 30€ in a small restaurant near the hotel.)

Room Tip: We booked a standard room, and had a view over the canal. I found it a little small for our taste, and I might choose a superior room next time.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just came back from our trip to Italy and we stayed at Hotel Al Sole for two nights. It was an old historic hotel that had lots of charm. The location was not too far from the bus station which made it convenient to get to from the airport. The directions on the website are very helpful. We did have lots of trouble finding the hotel when walking back after touring at night. It was almost impossible to find the right block. The people at the front desk were very nice and spoke English. Our room was pretty nice. The air-conditioner was great which was perfect since it was over 90 degrees when we were there. The hotel was clean, and had a nice breakfast which you were able to eat in a lovely little garden. The hotel was a bit far from St. Mark's Square where all the action was so we had to take the vaporetto (water bus). One night we tried walking and got extremely lost trying to get back to our hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews