We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“May in Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Fenice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alla Fenice
Ranked #60 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent the first week in May here at allafenice. We were very pleased with the location, which was easy to find, and the quiet building. Furio was kind enough to show us the way to the nearby grocery and his wife gave us some excellent suggestions for local restaurants. We went to many cafes and restaurants all over Venice, all great, and so we didn't use the kitchen very much! not much help there for review purposes.
The apartment was spacious and comfortable. The internet access was excellent, and the gondolas passing below, occasionally with singing gondoliers, were delightfully entertaining. Coming back to a pleasant "home away from home" apartment every day after exploring Venice made our stay relaxing and fun!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JGDGBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allafenice, Owner at Alla Fenice, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
thank you
was a pleasure to meet you hope to see you soon
Furio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bamfield, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We spent a week in Venice at the end of September. This apartment suited our needs well with the exception of the sitting area, which was small for 4. The kitchen was well equipped. Beds were comfortable. Washing machine is provided and we dried our clothes on a line outside the window overlooking the canal .... don't drop your socks!

Highlights were the Rialto Mercato, where we bought cheese, salami and fresh bread for lunch, fresh pasta and seafood for dinner and the evening parade of gondolas in the canal below the dining area, providing us with music and endless entertainment. Venice is very crowded in September, but this apartment provided us with a refuge from the hordes. We enjoyed going out early in the morning for coffee and croissants (Bar Ducale) and wandering about the city when it was cool and not so busy.

Furio went beyond the call of duty and rescued us when we showed up a day early and had nowhere to sleep. In spite of it still being high season in Venice he found accommodation for all four of us in two hotels. He also showed where to get basic groceries and general orientation. We found him helpful and considerate.

In short, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the Apt. Alla Fenice as a comfortable base while visiting Venice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Curt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

We traveled with friends and this was our first time to stay in a VRBO apartment. When we first arrived in Venice, we had a difficult time getting hold of Furio in order to get into the apartment which made us nervous. The phone number he had originally given us was no longer working. Luckily we found an email that we had received the day before we left that gave us his new number. Furio's wife came and let us in. We never met Furio. The place is tricky to find, but if you find the Teatro Fenice then you are close! The location of the apartment is wonderful! It is very centrally located and we found great places to eat nearby. It was a very comfortable apartment with windows that opened up to the canal where gondolas and their singing gondoliers passed below. The kitchen and eating area were nice and intermittent internet access was available. There was a TV and good air conditioning. The shower was fair with a funky shower curtain. No soap or shampoo provided. Washing machine worked well. It was a great place to stay if traveling with family or another couple. we had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kpnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#19 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Ca' della Scimmia
Ca' della Scimmia
#8 of 204 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Giudecca
Al Redentore di Venezia
Al Redentore di Venezia
#3 of 204 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
San Marco
Casa Fenice
Casa Fenice
#98 of 463 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Fenice

Property: Alla Fenice
Address: San Marco 1957, Venice Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large 2 bed apartment in the centre of Venice ItalyThis makes of this apartment a desirable place for a relaxing holiday, in the heart of the enchanting city of Venice. Positioned near the small “campiello” towards the entrance of the famous theatre of the artists from which the name originates, the apartment is on the first floor (about 20 steps up) In a Venetian house, easily recognizable for the “patera” an artistic decoration which for centuries has ornamented the house. The apartment is approximately 90 square metres and is very light; it has 10 windows, 6 of which are original stained glass original from the 18th Century. Recently refurbished (January 2008) it has central heating , air conditioning in both bedrooms and in the dining/living room. Tucked away in a quiet corner of Venice, only a short distance from Saint Mark's Square, the apartment offers the enchantment of a gondola-filled canal.Accommodation Summary :Both bedrooms are large and quiet. The large bedroom has views onto the canal from two small balconies where you can sit looking at the passing boats and gondolas maybe drinking a nice glass of prosecco. The second room, very large, has three windows and balcony, looks onto a small private garden, which was the studio of a famous Venetian painter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alla Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing