We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - but tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Antico Panada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antico Panada
Ranked #296 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location - but tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I thought the location of the Hotel was excellent - reasonably close to one of the ferry stations (for transporting luggage - only one pedestrian bridge to cross) - and almost backing onto St Mark's square.
Although the location was good the Hotel itself was a bit tired with dingy decor and furnishings in a rather cramped room. Mosquito infestation was equally troublesome, so if you are considering using - take plenty of repellant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    379
    329
    153
    168
See reviews for
232
566
90
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel approximately 30 years ago which was obviously before one could research accommodation on the internet. I was young and stupid then and, as it was the first time I had travelled abroad, I did not have anything to compare it to. The fact that I booked it again indicates that am not older and wiser, just older! I wouldn't say that the staff are rude, just that they are disinterested in their patrons, there is a 'care factor' of zero. We arrived late and after checking in inquired if there was somewhere we were able to get something to eat. After 2 flights with Alitalia and having only had a tiny packet of savoury biscuits, we were famished. The concierge told us to go around the corner as the restaurant may still be open. As we arrived they were shutting up. What he could have imparted was that the restaurant is part of the hotel and shares the same kitchen. A sandwich would have been much appreciated! The rooms have the same wallpaper that was up when I last stayed except that more of it has since peeled off or fallen down. The central heating in this establishment is so hot one feels like they are in a sauna. Windows can not be opened due to the invasion of mosquitos. There are no fly screens or mosquito nets to stop the onslaught. The breakfast is free (not inclusive) so one can't exactly complain about it. Patrons are squashed into one section of the restaurant only and literally sit shoulder to shoulder, boarding school style. I would presume that this is to make table service easier. As table service is almost non-existent this defeats the object. The décor throughout is kitsch and generally tatty. On the positive side, water pressure is good and hot water abundant. Bathrooms are spacious if not exactly clean. The beds are comfortable. Often management and staff make one's stay enjoyable and memorable. Our stay was memorable, I will not be booking accommodation at this hotel again. The best things about Antico Panada are its proximity to St. Mark's Square and the sign outside it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adi552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I recently booked this hotel through booking.com and found their attitude rude & very unhelpful. When I booked it it was made clear that no monies would be taken until I arrived but preauthorisation of my card would be just to support my booking. Unfortunately, money was taken from my account and trying to get it refunded has been a nightmare!!!! Booking.com have explained this as preauthorisation & not money taken......to me this is still taking my money under a different disguise!!! The hotel have ignored me so I have cancelled my booking: I am still waiting for my money!!! I booked it for the location but be warned, don't expect the customer service!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaYoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Could not believe our luck with the location of this hotel, it is literally a stones throw from St Marks Square making all of Venice easily accessible. On arriving at the hotel late in the evening we were told the main hotel was fully booked but they had rooms across the alleyway and up some windy steps. It felt like we were going into a residential property and I was very nervous as what to expect, until we opened the door into the most beautiful suite decorated in red and gold, two large windows, and lots of stunning antique furniture. it was beautiful. We had to go for breakfast in the main hotel which was fine and I didn't mind being separate as I felt like we had our own apartment in the middle of this beautiful city. Lovely, lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWilbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We booked a romm on internet, when we arrived to the hotel, the receptionist is not professional, is impolit,he tried to made fun of me,he don't respect the costumer, in some words, he represent the hotel, and he give a very bad impression of the hotel.
We didn't feel that we are in safe there, the room is in another bulding without a reception, so may everybody get into the building, we don't know if this building is for the hotel or are an apt.
The porter isn't professional.
In some words, this hotel is horrible, if you wanna book an hotel in Venice, try another.
I give this hotel 0 he don't deserve any rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antoine_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Panada comes up trumps on 'LOCATION'
it is bang on if you want to be close to the
epicenter of Venice. This hotel is the 'Stonesthrow'
from St Mark's Square etc etc etc
Room tight, small and comfortable, good bed so good
snooze. Breakfast a bun-fight plenty of sharp elbows
to avoid but, staff very helpful. The charge for internet
use of 3.50E did not impress me. The hotel bar was only
good for a nightcap, that said, still good deal for the money.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for in Venice, upgrades are available at a price ! but if one is out and abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOOLFHOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The shutters of the windows seemed had come down at any moment, the wallpaper was peeling off at various points from the wall, the TV received only a few channels.To better keep the room would have sufficed a few small maintenance plus, breakfast, given the prices, had to be much better.
In return, the cleanliness was good and the bathroom was nice.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cesare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#268 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#240 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#83 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#324 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Panada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Panada

Property: Antico Panada
Address: Sestiere San Marco 646, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Panada 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Panada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing