We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice room at good place"”
Review of Antico Panada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antico Panada
Ranked #306 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“"Nice room at good place"”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is situated directly behind the Saint Marc Cathedral in a narrow and small street. As the rooms are in two buildings therefore the hotel provides us an easier way to go to our room. We can go to our room from another street and we get a key to staircase. In first impression it doesn’t seem very good but it was much better to us.
The room is a small but wonderful room. The walls were decorated by silk “wallpaper”. There are an amazing glass chandelier and some nice painting and brass lamps on the wall. The room has been furnished in Rococo style. The room is well-equipped and the bathroom is very nice (hair dryer, mini bar, safe box, some vanity articles, bath with Jacuzzi). If you want to have a shower you will be able to use it, because there is a window door by the bath. The breakfast is served near the reception. Unfortunately the choice is not wide, but the food is eatable but it isn’t the best. Naturally near the hotel there are some good restaurants where you can have breakfast on available price. The Staff is kind and helpful. Wireless is in the hotel and the restaurant. You can ask the wifi-code from receptionist. In the room the wireless doesn’t work well at every time.
If you wish a luxury hotel you had better choose another oneJ but in my opinion if you see the rate of price and value, this hotel will be a good choice. I recommend for everybody because it hotel has nice rooms with reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    389
    342
    163
    177
See reviews for
246
591
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The pluses: very clean (see exception below); really central & convenient; wonderful mattress; very good chambermaid service; decent (if not great) breakfast; warm room; small but good bathroom; decent quality towels; free use of safe - much appreciated.

The minuses: we paid for an upgrade but would rate the room as regular, not superior; VERY hard pillows! (but we slept well anyway); dusty artificial flowers & plants in lobby and breakfast room (though hotel v.clean apart from this) - Italians usually have excellent taste and this struck us as odd and very unattractive; another matter of taste - the room was furnished with unmatching items of many colours & a most unaesthetic formica wardrobe which jarred horribly with the decor - Antico Panada owner: please replace that! The room overlooked indoor small courtyard - absolutely no view, but of course a room with a view in Venice is very expensive so we understood this; smell of drains in lobby (not in the room, which was fine) but we felt this was temporary due to some work being done. However, no apology or explanation offered for the smell! Shortage of receptionists when needed at front desk and there was often a queue to be attended to.

This sounds as if there were far more minuses than pluses but I believe they came out equal. I wouldn't go back to the Antico Panada because of the dodgy taste exhibited in various ways (the formica wardrobe together with what purported to be mostly period furniture nearly gave me a coronary), but we did sleep very well and the location is brilliant.

Room Tip: If loud bells bother you, this might not be the place - they ring regularly from St. Mark's Squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I am writing this review only as comment on the service of the hotel . Did not manage to visit Venice and the specifc hotel as i was planning too and i am not really sure how the service is from inside, i hope is good ! However needed to express my only complaint . I emailed the hotel prior my arrival for information regarding transportation services and they never answer back. Had to get the information through the agent that i used to book the room. I know that details are being published on the hotel's site however needed to find out if they were able to organise transfer for me . I think that this was not an option for them so they did not give any advise.
Just a little bit of dissappointment there on the service provided! Maybe next time they do better!

Room Tip: Please try to reach me them directly over phone if you need to have an direct answer back!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank x19k77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We can absolutely recommend the hotel, we had a superior room some corners around from the main hotel which was beautifully furnished, good mattresses and a nice bathroom. Very clean and spacious. Unfortunately the tv did not work, but who needs TV in Venice:-) breakfast as catastrophic as in most hotels in Italy in the medium price range: coffee from a machine which produces all kinds of hot beverages with the push of a button:-( more we did not see as the "buffet" was set up in a cubby hole where a max of 3-6 people could squeeze in. We decided to skip breakfast altogether and got a proper coffee around the corner.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel was reasonably clean but old "but most of Venice is old". The location is great. The staff was helpful and nice. One thing that bothered me was the smell of septic tank as you enter the lobby. Not sure if it was actually that or just an old musky odor due to the high humidity. To be fair I did not have time to go in to other hotels close by to see if they were all the same. All in all this is a solid 3 star hotel so if you are just looking for a place to stay that is very convenient and comparatively reasonable on price it is a good choice. Considering that we did not plan to spend much time in the room it was fine for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gclubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is somewhat expensive, but the all hotels in Venice center are. Its location is excellent: walking by foot to San Marco and many other attractions takes just a few minutes. We stayed in a large room (a surprise in Venice) with a jacuzzi (another surprise) - and it was in another building, in a different street! It looked like it did not belong in the hotel proper, but was just a flat sublet by the hotel.
The breakfast was good enough (for a country where breakfast usually means just coffee, milk, croissant and butter). A problem with being so near to San Marco is that the acqua alta floods the whole neighborhood. That happened when we were leaving to take the boat to the cruise port. Although it did not reach the hotel streets, it was impossible to cross San Marco using the catwalks, with our heavy luggage. The hotel called a porter with fisherman boots and a handcart for the luggage, and that solved the problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was the worst hotel we had out of the five places we stayed in Italy. It looks beautiful in the pictures and I was so excited about staying here. Luckily we had only booked one night. You get all the reproduction paintings that you would expect in Venice - the kids liked that bit. The room itself was so small and cramped. It would have been ok if the air-conditioning had been able to do anything about the heat. Even in October, the heat in the room was very uncomfortable. We were all exhausted in the morning after getting no sleep. In addition, we had had to accommodate our five year old in the double bed. We had requested an extra bed when booking the room but they had not bothered to inform us that this was not possible (which we saw was due to the size of the room: the family room is really a double room where they have put to fold out beds in already). We travel a lot with the kids and often have to make a request for extra bed but have never not heard back and then to show up and not have the bed. I was annoyed to say the least. The kids reported that the extra beds were rather uncomfortable. The breakfast in the morning was rather generous after Italian standards, providing bread and meats in addition to sweet pastries. The coffee was simply undrinkable.

We were very disappointed when the reception could not help with recommendations for dining out beyond stating that they had a restaurant themselves and that it was very expensive. We admitted that we did not wish to dine at their restaurant and pay €30 for pizza but he would not be drawn on anywhere else worth trying on a budget. We walked up the street and tried somewhere, which still turned out to be the most expensive meal we had on our weeklong stay in Italy, and the food was simply inedible. If you can stay somewhere with helpful staff, it will make all the difference to your stay in Venice. Judging from the breakfast, I would never try the restaurant in this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#330 of 385 in Venice
354 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#289 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#255 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#83 of 385 in Venice
1,347 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#108 of 385 in Venice
796 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#194 of 385 in Venice
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Panada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Panada

Property: Antico Panada
Address: Sestiere San Marco 646, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Panada 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Panada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing