We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced but good location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antico Panada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antico Panada
Ranked #293 of 385 Hotels in Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced but good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Do not let the professional photos fool you. It looks grand and spacious but it is quite small and cramped. We stayed for three nights and found it to be a very average hotel for the price. The room we had was ok, but due for new flooring and wall coverings. I did appreciate that it was supposed to look "antique" and the painted headboard, desk and end tables gave it a unique feel. The best thing was the location (literally steps from San Marco Piazza). Our room was located at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy at night. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the room, but one of the annoying things was that the room key card needed to be inserted into a slot on the wall in order for the electricity in the room to work. If one person wished to be out of the room, the other had to stay awake in order to let the other back in. They staff refused to give us more than one card. There was no wifi in the room, only in the common area downstairs, so this was very inconvenient. There were also no electrical outlets in our room that worked with our adapters (the configuration looked like a long, thin USB port) so recharging phones and such had to be done in the bathroom using the razor outlet, or in the common room. The bathroom was large and modern, at least. I believe there are other, less pricey places to stay that had just as much if not more to offer, and I should have done more research. In retrospect, being close to San Marco's was ok, but it really didn't make a difference in how much we saw of Venice and it probably added to the noise at night. I was hoping for a very nice hotel as a treat from the more budget conscious places I had chosen in other cities. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room that is quiet. I can't say that a room in the back would be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    347
    309
    146
    148
See reviews for
209
523
86
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrive at the hotel and are very impressed with the location. The morning staff are courteous and ready for us. Then we are shown to our room...via various lifts, winding corridors, connecting doors. We were never able to find it again without a map! When we approached the afternoon Manager about this he was off hand and dismissed us as idiots. The room itself was small (supposed to be a "family room", tired but clean. It was very noisy, but that's to be expected in that area near to St Marks square. Breakfast was nothing short of mean - a few slices of meat, cheese or bread (for toasting if you had time to put it through the toaster 6 or 7 times), a cereal or two, yogurt and some cheap looking buns in a basket on your table. The dining room was crowded and we were offered coffee which tasted like yesterday's dregs. We never ate breakfast after day one but were still charged 8 euros for it. All in all the worst hotel in our entire trip around central and northern Italy. I'd never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jannyinorbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but hard to find but every hotel is in venices small narrow streets.Stylish venetian decor throughout hotel.staff seemed friendly enough. Never had breakfast so cant comment on that.great location for san marco

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 825barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Most expensive and worst hotel we stayed at on our tour of Northern Italy. Needed a Sat Nav to find the room. Had to ask the reception staff to draw us a map. Breakfast was the real low point and there is no excuse for this in a country full of good food. We only tried breakfast once then didn't bother but still paid for it. The room was ok but had mould on the ceiling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is very confusing -- the rooms could be in other buildings and there are endless corridors & stairs with little signage (we got lost more than once!) to reach our rooms in level 5 -- at the attic. We booked 2 rooms and asked for "a room with a view", but little did we know that we had to play hide and seek just to get a room with a view... which isn't really a great view, just the top silhouette of Basilica San Marco from the little window on our attic rooms.

Imagine a family of four with 5 big & heavy suitcases and 4 cabin luggages... and we had
Thank goodness for Carlo, the bell boy, who helped us with the luggages! What would we do without Carlo? Poor him though for having to lift all our heavy luggages up the stairs to our rooms.

Because our rooms were so far away from the reception (we had to take 2 lifts, climbed some stairs, and walked through endless corridors to reach our rooms somewhere in the next building or so), we needed 2 keys each room for each person, but the reception could only give 1 key each room, resulting to difficulties in entering the room for those who didn't have the key.
AC was too hot in one room, and too cold in another room.

The wifi wasn't working well most of the time, and couldn't reach our rooms since we were too far away.

Breakfast is mediocre in a very cramped room.

The only nice thing is the location, but there are plenty of other hotels in the same location with the same price (for instance: Best Western Montecarlo or Comfort Hotel Diana -- both right in front of Antico Panada). Now that I know and have plenty of other choices, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay here no matter what, ask for rooms closest to the reception. Trust me, vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I can actually not believe that I have not written this review before, but I only realised it tonight as I was looking for the name of the hotel for somebody who is going to Venice.

We stayed at the Hotel Antico Panada in April 2011. It was absolutely fabulous. The rooms were a tad small but not too small. Our bathroom was nice and spacious.

The most important thing that I remember about this hotel is the location!!!! it is fab, fab, fab...!!!!! Imagine staying 20m from the most important square in Venice!!!! Glorious.

Even if you do not like the breakfast, size of the room, etc. I'd say it is still worth it, because of the location.

Room Tip: you may want to ask for a room that does not look into the middle of the building. there is no cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tree10075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#251 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#320 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#199 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#211 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#157 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#218 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Panada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Panada

Property: Antico Panada
Address: Sestiere San Marco 646, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Panada 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Antico Panada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing